Things I Know About Surgery & Endometriosis

I’ll just preface this post by saying I hate that I know anything about either of these topics. But on the other hand, I’m thankful that I know about these, and not something much worse. Let’s face it, there is much, MUCH worse!

I know that surgery, of any kind, is a scary thought.
I know the worst part of surgery, usually, is the lead up and the wait, especially the morning of!
I know putting your life in someone else’s hands, is very difficult for a control freak.
I know there are always risks with surgery, no matter how “minor” it may be.
I know that I should have become an anesthetist.
I know that contrary to popular belief, you don’t actually get a better sleep in hospital.
I know that every little pain or twinge you feel in your legs after surgery automatically puts you into paranoia about blood clots.
I know that no matter how long you lay in bed post-surgery in your paper gown and nappy between your legs, the second you get up is the same second your doctor will walk in.
I know endometriosis is a condition that occurs when the scar like tissue that grows on the inside of the uterus instead grows on the outside.
I know endometriosis affects more people than they know about, because many women will never know they have it.
I know endometriosis is one of the leading causes of female infertility.
I know there are no guarantees, even with the endo removed, that we will have success getting pregnant.
I know there are a lot of questions left unanswered, and lots more research to be done when it comes to endo.
I know I keep reading that “some studies show surgery to remove endometriosis can double the pregnancy rate.” But I don’t know what that means exactly.
I know baby making is all about science. And I am so happy the surgery actually found something. “If it’s meant to be” has very little, if anything to do with it.
I know that we now have renewed hope. And that gives me strength.

Linking up with Dorothy at Singular Insanity for Things I Know

15 thoughts on “Things I Know About Surgery & Endometriosis

  1. Believe me when I say I hate it too!! I had undiaganosed Stage IV Endometriosis that wasn’t discovered until I had surgery to remove my blocked fallopian tubes prior to a cycle of IVF when we were trying to conceive. They were initially unsure as to the cause of the blockages but immediately knew it was due to the endometriosis. They removed all the adhesions during that surgery, and our IVF cycle was successful! I have my little Noah now, so it was all worth it!

    • I’m so glad you have a happy ending to your story Nicole! Thank you for sharing. It gives me even more hope! I’m sorry you had to go through that.

    • Thank you … not sure what that is really haha. I am finally becoming “happy either way” I think. (maybe). Thanks for your support.

    • It is really frustrating! And depressing, and a slew of other emotions. But I have one very awesome son, and I’m so lucky to have that blessing, many others don’t. It keeps me sane in all this.

  2. Thinking of you, any surgery is daunting especially of a female and embarrassing nature.
    I hope it all goes well , I know of a few ladies who had surgery for endo and successful pregnancies (IVF a few of them)

    • Thank you Trish. I have to say, you inspire me! I thought of you, and another friend of mine who recently had a double mastectomy and the courage you both have to face what you face every day. Thank you for your comment and support.

  3. Glad it is all over and done with. Here’s to a successful outcome.
    The good thing is that, no matter what happens, you know that you tried the options that were available to you.
    Thinking of you and sending lots of love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

    • Thank you C! Hopefully! At least there are some answers, now whatever is meant to be will be! hope you are well. Thanks for your support as always! xo

  4. I was told I wouldn’t have children before one in a long line of endo surgeries. Something happened and soon after I found myself in the blessed state of pregnancy. It took 5 years for baby #2 to come along, but we were also blessed a second time. The human body is a strange thing. Thinking of you x

Leave a comment