Why I Love This Game

I know it’s fairly unusual, but I am a woman, and I love golf. I have loved it my whole life, although there have been times we haven’t been on the best of terms. Growing up with parents and grandparents who played, I willingly followed along from the time I was about 6 years old.

I started playing as part of a club when I was 11 years old. I guess I was the son my dad never had. I spent school holidays at the club practicing, I was there weekends. When my friends were out shopping and going to the movies, I was playing golf tournaments. I played college golf in the US and have worked in the industry ever since. I’m not exaggerating when I say everything I’ve done in my life has been thanks to or because of golf.

I grew up idolising Greg Norman. I watched as this young African American – the first allowed to play Augusta National – dominated the golf world and blew everyone away. After all the golfing greats, would he go down in history as THE Greatest of All Time? Now I watch and wonder if I am witnessing the next generation of legends. Is this Jordan kid the real deal? Is he here to stay?

Every April, when The Masters rolls around, I fall in love with the game all over again. I get the bug, and want to get to the range or out on course. I love that my non-golfing husband is keen to go to the range and might even be feeling the bug nip at his heels. I love that my son has taken to the game and already seems to love it as much as I do.  But he doesn’t really get it yet. He hasn’t walked the fairway at 6:30 in the morning before anyone else. He hasn’t felt the highs and lows of winning a tournament, losing a playoff, making an eagle or having a 15 on a hole. I love that golf is a sport we can share for years to come, and when life gets busy, if I can get him on the golf course, I’ll have him for at least 3 hours straight!

Golf teaches resilience, integrity, mental toughness, humility, sportsmanship. I know a lot of sports teach these things. But how many do it in such a beautiful, peaceful setting? How many sports can be played for 40+ years? There’s not many sports I don’t like. But golf is in my bones, and in my heart. I feel lucky to have been raised by golfers and to have been given the opportunities I was given through golf. I hope my son finds a sport that will give him as much.

One thought on “Why I Love This Game

Leave a Reply

