Thankful Thursday

It never ceases to amaze me that when we (at least for me) are feeling down, feeling like maybe life is throwing lemons at us, like maybe we’re getting the raw end of the deal, something or someone comes along to give us some perspective. Which almost always means someone else’s life has really gone to shit, and we aren’t even half as bad off as we think we are.

These moments used to be fewer and further between than they have been lately. They also used to not hit so close to home. Perspective for me came in the form of hearing about people I didn’t know, being struck with some kind of tragedy. And I’d be thankful for everything I have. Recently it’s been either my family or someone close to us who seems to be going through shit times, but I give thanks, because myself, my husband, my son, my mum and my sisters are all ok and have lots to be thankful for.

I used to have that “it won’t happen to us” sense of (false) security. Now I feel like “oh my God it’s going to happen to us!” It’s a crap feeling. (Stick with me, I’m getting to the thankfuls!).

Life is scary. And fast. And so unbelievably fragile and precious. And this year I’ve realized so many things. I am so thankful for gratitude. It has such an impact on our emotions, our feelings, our behaviours. Life is for living, for smiling, for laughing. I’m not saying we don’t or can’t have off days or that we should burn our cranky pants. But I am saying that there is far more to be thankful for than we can sometimes see. Which is funny really, because the things I’m most thankful for seem to be the most basic, the most taken for granted, the most under-appreciated, but most important things of all.

Source: behappy.me via Cheryl on Pinterest

</P

I’m thankful for my health. Without it, we have nothing. There’s nothing like an overnight stay in hospital to make you really appreciate being healthy.

I’m thankful for a roof over my head, good food on my table and wine in my glass. We easily forget how many people don’t have one of these things let alone all 3!

I’m thankful for my son. He is happy, healthy, I am often complimented on what a great kid he is. Granted, he has turned 4 and with it has come that 4-going-on-15 attitude. But I am confident we will get through it. When I am upset about our not having a second child, I think about people who don’t ever get to have even one child. I feel like I was nothing, knew nothing about life or love, until I became a mother. It is a tragedy that not every woman who wants to be a mum necessarily gets to do so.

I am thankful for being an Aussie, and for getting to live in what I think is one of the most amazing places in the world. Granted, I’ve not been to every place in the world, but of the places I have been, it certainly ranks up there. How could it not, with views like this, less than an hour from our stunning beaches?

I am in a much better place than I was 7+ months ago. And for that I am incredibly grateful.

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday!

10 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Thanks for this post – it is just what I needed to hear this morning. I will be thinking about what I have to be thankful for today during the day.
    Have a great day !
    Me

    • Thanks L. Sometimes we just need to go back to basics, right? I read a quote, but now can’t find it again, something like “Be thankful for the small things, because one day you’ll look back and realise they were the big things.”

    • It IS a lucky country! Or a very blessed country. We have it so good, yet people still whinge all the time! How did that saying go, “Wake up Australia!” thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

