I Must Confess : Holiday Mode

Oh boy, I must confess, I’m only chucking this last minute post together because Emily at Have a Laugh On Me tagged me in Mystery Case’s Facebook status about confessing tomorrow (today). Yep, I’m cheating and doing it the night before! Another confession…my blog posts are hardly EVER written on the day they’re posted. They’re usually written and scheduled for a certain day to coincide with a certain linkup. I’m sure I’m not the only one!

My deep dark confession today, is that I’ve loved having a break from blogging over Christmas and New Year. I need to seriously consider how I’m going to approach blogging from now on I think. I still love the community and still have plenty to say, but the time I’ve had away has made me realise it is not the end of the world if I don’t blog every week.

I’ve loved having a break from personal training for the last 2 weeks (but boy is THAT going to bite me in the ass tomorrow!). I’m also loving that as everyone is going back to work tomorrow after some time off, my holidays are just beginning. Working shift work in a 355-day-a-year operation means getting time off over Christmas is impossible difficult. The one thing that does suck about that though is that my husband is also going back to work tomorrow, just as my holidays are starting.

If I’m quiet for the next couple of weeks it’s because I’m taking time with my son. I love the school holidays, and love having him home, not rushing to school drop off, not making lunches. I’m also excited to get to do some fun things with him over the next couple of weeks. But tomorrow, I think we’ll be having a PJ day at home, just to kick the holidays off right.

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas and new year with lots of good cheer. It’s been a holiday period of firsts for me, checking things off my bucket list, trying new things, and learning a little about myself, and others. I’m looking forward to filling the rest of the year with much the same.

Linking up with Mystery Case who is hosting I Must Confess today while Kirsty is still on break.

10 thoughts on “I Must Confess : Holiday Mode

  1. Go you for getting one done! I just finished mine now – wish I could have a PJ day at home, but I made plans, SILLY BILLY! I’m like you – not worried if miss blogging – life is too important. Did you know I’ve only ever scheduled about 3 posts, usually I’m writing them the day they are posted! Last minute Larry I am…. And what about Hewitt – BOOM! xx

  2. Thanks for linking up! I have almost 120 draft blog posts up my sleeve at the moment following a bit of a blogging break while my mother in law was visiting with us. It’s good to have a break once in awhile. I had a complete ban on social media for an entire weekend not long ago and managed to get all those odd jobs out of the road and redecorate half the house.

  3. oh my I am the total opposite type of blogger…I always seem to be the ‘night before’ type of person and in this case I was the ’10 minutes ago’ type of blogger!! ONe thing I love about holidays is that I usually totally forget what day of the week it even is!
    Am glad to read about a parent who loves school holidays because more often that not I am reading/hearing all these parents saying how they can’t wait for the ‘bloody kids to go back to school’… my cousin and sister being 2 main ones… I think that’s a little sad 😦
    Enjoy the time with your boy..

  4. Good outlook to have. I’ve been having a bit of a break too as I get used to my new family arrangement. Lots of posts to write but neither the time or inclination to write them at the moment. Enjoy your time together with N. All the best for 2014 x

  5. I took a bit of a break but I did enjoy writing a few draft posts. It seemed while I took the pressure off that the words flowed a bit more freely. I want to start writing a few more extra posts this year so that I have a few up my sleeve for when the old mojo takes a holiday.

  6. Yay for a little bloggy break and some relaxation time over Christmas! I’m a night before writer too, in fact I just hit publish on my IBOT post for today about 30 seconds ago. I’ve eased up a bit over Christmas tho too, I usually post daily but traffic was down and I couldn’t be bothered pushing out crap content just for the sake of publishing something so I just went with the flow a little. It was nice.

  7. I am loving having the break over the Christmas and just dealing with my family and relationship. Back to work yesterday was so hard for all of us, I love being able to go with the flow. I try to write posts early but it doesn’t always happen.

  8. I remember when I was in the corporate world, I used to love being at work this time of year – simply because it was like being on holiday but still getting paid!
    So good that you’ve got this time to be with your boy, Aroha.
    And yeah, I’m with you on the blogging thing. I’m going to have to reassess things this year, me thinks. But hope to still keep in touch with you! And eventually meet you IRL! 🙂 x

  9. Haha I am also in the holiday mode, Aroha! We just came back from a cruise and I stopped blogging for one whole week, not something I usually do, and boy oh boy it felt rather awesome to not have to crack my brain or type on the keyboard. =) Like you, all I did was to enjoy the family time bonding with the hubby and my two lovelies. I think we should all learn to enjoy the holidays without being in front of the computer! =) Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment