I’m Not An Aussie

Nick’s very favourite part of school is PE. But he also likes library day, and bringing home a new book to read at bed time each week. This week he brought home  The Golden Kangaroo.

{img source}

In the book it mentions that The Golden Kangaroo is an “Aussie through and through.”  As I read this part, I was surprised to hear, “Mum, what’s an Aussie?” I have failed my child! I have failed my country!

“You’re an Aussie!” I said. “No I not,” was the reply. I had to think for a second, before explaining to him what an Aussie was. “You were born in Australia, that makes you an Aussie.” Sorry, it was the best I could do on the spot. “Oh,” he said. “Ok.”

As I sit here, wondering what to blog about this week, I hear The Mechanic in the next room, reading The Golden Kangaroo to Nick. And I hear, loudly and proudly, “I’m an Aussie!”

I’m glad we’ve cleared that up. Now I just have to try and explain to him that he’s also an American without confusing the poor child. Any tips?

Linking up with Essentially Jess for #IBOT – have you linked up yet? Come join us!

39 thoughts on “I’m Not An Aussie

  1. LOL – that is so cute !!!! K was a little confused after we got her because she knew we were South African. Then we became Australians – now we are true blue Aussies and wouldn’t change it for the world !
    Have the best week my friend and take care !
    Me

  2. How funny, I guess it’s not something that comes up in conversation much. The explanation part I mean.

    I have that same issue, hubby is American. 2 of the boys have their SS numbers and USA passports too.

  3. I am an Aussie, but also British. Hubby is an Aussie but also Irish. Dex is an Aussie who is also British with the ability to also be Irish if he so chooses and multiple citizenship is still allowed by all three at the time… add in the fact that his grandmother is Polish and that one is going to be fun to explain too 🙂

  4. When I was a kid, I used to tell people I was half Australian, a quarter English and a quarter American. My thought was mum was Australian and I was born here so that makes half, Dad was English and my step dad was American so there were my quarters. It never occured to me that step dads heritage doesn’t count!

  5. I remember being about nine years old and very patriotic and telling my English grandfather that as an Aussie I was far better than poor old pommie him and didn’t he wish he was an Aussie like me!

  6. Hee hee that is awesome – so our babies are Aussies with Kiwis as parents, grandparents on both sides and aunties etc! I do feel a little sad they will grow up learning about the history they don’t really have – if that makes sense. xx

  7. Such a common question these days with our multicultural society isn’t it? We’ve always told Bell she’s Chinesian, John’s Chinese and i’m Aussie. She’s proud of both cultures and especially happy about all the lovely Chinese food we always have at celebrations LOL xx

    • I think it’s lovely for kids to have different cultures to learn about and celebrate and be proud of. Especially 2 as different as Aussie and Chinese. Aussie and American is not that different – although different histories, etc. the cultures are very similar now!

  8. I’m an Aussie, but I also was proud that my Dad is Scottish, I think kids actually like being able to say they are something else as well. I can just imagine Ezra when he is older proudly saying that he is half American too haha!

  9. Hahaha! I can just imagine myself, one day, talking with my children about their origins! I think you gave him the right answer: simple and clear, this is all what he need for the moment in my opinion.

  10. That’s just too cute!
    At the daycare the boys were taught to answer “Australia” when asked “Where are you from?”
    Now they say, “Australia and Indonesian…” Technically correct. Grammatically? Not so much 🙂

    • yeah I think I’ll give it a couple of years. Although it may come up sooner rather than later, as they’re already talking at school about where their parents and grandparents come from!

Leave a comment