I Birthday on Tuesdays

It’s finally here. My 35th birthday. Another year older, another year wiser, all that crap. Unfortunately it seems to have brought with it the Midlife Crisis. Which isn’t all that bad, many people would be stoked to live to 70! I’m trying to look for the silver lining people!!

So in honour of my 35th year of life, I’m going to give you 35 facts about me. Oh joy for you!!

1. I’m 35 years old (omg that’s the first time I’ve said that!)

2. I am Aussie born and raised.

3. I lived in the US for 11 years.

4. And met my husband there.

5. We got married in Florida 18 months before we moved to Australia.

Wedding

6. I have one awesome 5 year old son. I always thought I’d have more than that, but some things aren’t meant to be.

7. I also have 2 sisters, 1 sister-in-law, 5 brother-in-laws, 3 nieces and a nephew.

7. I’ve always played either tennis or golf, and for a while I did both (not at the same time).

8. I have fake hair – I bought clip in hair extensions in my midlife crisis!

photo 5

9. Which I still maintain is cheaper than buying a midlife crisis Ferrari.

10. Instead of a Ferrari, I drive a Mitsubishi Lancer – it has a spoiler so it goes faster (tho still not faster than a Ferrari).

11. I have been in a helicopter (also not faster than a Ferrari).

12. I’m an iTragic…iPhone, iPad, iMac, had an iPod but it was iStolen.

13. I love to sing. But I do my best signing at karaoke bars at 2 am after a few (too many) drinks.

14. The coolest places I’ve been include the Roman Coliseum … and Shipshewana, Indiana, which is home to lots of Amish folk.

15. I’m declaring 2013 The Year of Concerts – Keith Urban, Guy Sebastian, Pink, Bon Jovi with Kid Rock and I’m trying to convince hubby we need to see Olly Murs.

16. My all time favourite athlete is Roger Federer. I’m hoping to get to see him at the 2014 Brisbane International. My current life goal is to see him live before he retires. Fingers xxxxx’d.

17. I am addicted to candy crush saga. Just ask my husband. I’m up to level 290. If I can make it to 300 I’m quitting the game for good. You heard it here first people! I can stop whenever I want to!!!

Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 4.26.57 PM

18. I traded my son’s train table and train tracks for a 1L bottle of Bacardi.

19. I can just about quote the whole movie The Sound of Music.

20. My mum took me shopping for my birthday and the store I found the most I liked in was KMart (not a sponsored list item).

21. Hubby, friends and I went to a house warming party for friends once…only we went to the wrong house,who also happened to be having a party. We were there 30 minutes before we realised. We left the watermelon fruit dish we had brought and high-tailed it out of there. So funny I almost wet my pants. Maybe you had to be there.

22. I asked hubby to help with this list. He said, “Put down that you snore. And steal the covers.” And he thinks he’s getting lucky??

23. On a serious note, I’m really worried about what the world will be like when my son graduates high school. I don’t even want to think about it.

24. I’d rather think about saving our asses off for the next 12 months and taking him to Disney World. Or Land. Which would be less flying!

25. Which would be really great, because I hate flying. I mean full-blown panic attack even with 2 Valium in me. This shit is real man.

26. I’d like to know why we have 2 Brits judging Australia’s Got Talent?!*

27. I almost broke up with my husband when I first met him because he didn’t know who Van Morrison or James Taylor were.

28. I’ve now been going to group personal training for over 14 months, during which time I’ve lost 12 kgs and 2 dress sizes.

photo 1 (1)

29. I still see my high school friends regularly. I don’t think many people can say that almost 20 years after graduating.

30. I once drove a (2-door) Porsche that had 6 people in it. I was the only sober one, and the only one with a seat to myself.

31. I want a gaggle of minions. Despicable Me style*.

photo 3

32. I love taking pictures but I don’t get to do it nearly enough. Check out my photography here.

33. I am cold blooded. My feet are always freezing! In winter they are like ice blocks.

34. I feel and look better at 35 than I did at 25, all thanks to my personal training. I hope at 45 I can say the same about 35.

photo 2

35. I thought I’d never make it to the end of this list, but there’s so much more I haven’t told you!

* This list has been influenced by things I’ve seen on tv while writing it

Linking up for IBOT (I Blog On Tuesdays!) as always, with Essentially Jess!

54 thoughts on “I Birthday on Tuesdays

  1. Happy birthday love and you know what? This is one f my favourite posts on your blog EVER! Thanks for sharing your awesome stories, insights, pictures and strength with us! We must meet up finally- name a date already. ; )

    • Tuesday September 3rd, a few of us are having dinner when Josefa from Always Josefa is in town. If you could make it down that would be fabulous but understand it might be a bit difficult at night esp if hubby is away for work. Keep it in mind! It would be wonderful to meet you too! xo

  2. If he’s 5, got to Asia and there’s LEGOLAND, Universal Studios and Disneyland, all within an hour of each other (well, the Disneyland is an hour by plane) but I have gotten $300 return fares to Singapore, and $370 return to Singapore, so sign up to Scoot and you will only need to save for the accom. And in HK, you can stay in the Toy Suite in the Cosmopotian that has train tracks and playstation…and other toys.

  3. Happy birthday! Great list. I think that party story is hilarious! I also said to my husband the other night “if Australia has so much talent, why all the accents on the judging panel?” Enjoy your celebrations. Oh to be 35 again!

    • One of my friends was actually holding a baby when we realized we were at the wrong house. OMG. Never seen anyone give a kid back so fast. It was SO embarrassing! Worst part is our friends having the party were from Bangladesh. This family was from one of those countries too and was having some kind of house cleansing tradition or something. To this day one of the funniest times in my life EVER.

    • well, I can’t say it’s my proudest moment! We’d had his train table packed away for a couple of years because we didn’t have the space for it. Then decided to sell it, mentioned it to my friends on FB and one said she wanted it, so I said, “Oh, just get me a 1L bottle of bacardi.” SO she did! And I went in search of other things people might have been willing to exchange for alcohol but I came up short.

  4. oooh candy crush is controlling me.. not sure I can give it up yet.. maybe at 200.. my feet are ALWAYS cold.. to the point in winter I have to wear 2 pairs of socks to bed or I wake up with cramps 😦

    Great list and Happy Birthday!!!

  5. Happy birthday! I turned 35 this year too – it ain’t that bad! Thanks for sharing the information about you – it was great!
    I’ve never downloaded Candy Crush – don’t want to start!

  6. What a fun, cheeky and interesting list, I knew most of it but the house warming one – LMAO! Classic. Happy Birthday, I think this is the 4th place on social media I have written this today!! I bet you won’t stop at 300 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xxxxx

    • The house party thing was by far the funniest moment of my life. I am not sure I have ever laughed so hard – when it happened and then every time we mentioned it again too! I think you’re right about 300, but I’m going to really try. At 296 now.

    • Well I was originally trying to SELL them then when a good friend said she wanted them I told her to just get me a 1L bottle of bacardi and we’d call it even! Unfortunately I couldn’t find anything else to exchange for alcohol.

    • Not my finest hour – I’m sure it sounds much worse than it actually is. we were actually trying to sell the train table, it wasn’t like someone said “here’s a L of bacardi, what will you give me for it.” ha ha!

  7. Happy Birthday Aroha, there were a few interesting surprises there- group personal training and 12 kg down- amazing effort! I have never driven a Porsche and I wonder if I ever will in this lifetime. The party story was good- you didn’t have to be there! xx #teamIBOT

  8. Happy birthday, gorgeous gal! Love that story about going to the wrong party! Haha! And you look so beautiful on your wedding day! Get off Candy Crush! STAT! 🙂 xxx

  9. I love these types of posts that give a real insight into people’s personalities 🙂 Happy happy birthday, hope your year ahead is full of love, laughter and happiness. The reason there is 2 Brits on AGT – no Aussie chick is willing to work with Sandilands!!!!!! Xxxxx

  10. Bountiful birthday blessings to you, lovely lady! I’m glad you said the Roman colosseum is cool because … we’re planning a trip there hopefully next year!! Wooot! And go the hair extensions – they look fab. MIss 16 has some too and they are awesome. Her hair is a completely different colour to mine or I’d borrow them occasionally 🙂

Leave a comment