Oh Roma

It’s hard to explain in words. It is something that has to be felt. That feeling of comfortableness. Of awe. Of familiarity, even though in all your life you have never been in this place before.

It’s the feeling of wanting to stay. The feeling of being wrapped in a giant, warm, cozy blanket. It’s seeing everything for the first time, but feeling like it’s old hat, like you know it like the back of your own hand.

It’s having never been interested in history, until now. It’s feeling like a minuscule dot of sand on a big white sandy beach, when you think of what has happened in the place you are standing. When you realise just how many hundreds of years have passed since these giant, breathtaking structures were erected. And how.

It’s eating the best pasta of your life and drinking table wine off checkered tablecloths. It’s closing down hole-in-the-wall bars with fellow Aussies you met on the train, and having the staff sitting and talking with you, making jokes in broken English.

It’s finding out that in a few short months, you’re going to be parents.

It’s talking about ways you could come back and live for a few years, and completely immerse yourself in this ancient city.

It’s visiting Rome and never wanting to leave.

IMG_3201 IMG_3205

colosseum2

IMG_3288 IMG_3342 ruinspiazzadelrepublica treviftn3

Linking up with the always lovely Always Josefa for Conversations Over Coffee

Conversations over coffee - always josefa

16 thoughts on “Oh Roma

  1. Oh Aroha, I love Rome so much too! Thank you for taking me back there with this beautiful post. Hubby and I spoke of the fantasy of going to live there one day. How glorious would that be! I love the way you wrote this, I was mesmerized by your words. Thank you for linking up to #convocoffee Josefa

  2. Oh yes, I totally can relate to your post Aroha. I love Rome and would go back there any time. How amazing are your pictures! I also understand that you have a deep connection with this city if you found out there that you were pregnant! How beautiful!

  3. I’m with you on this one – Rome was my favourite city in Europe! When I visited there as a backpacker… almost 15 years ago, wow… I didn’t read up on it at all beforehand and was blown away. I walked all around town by myself, mapless, just exploring and absorbing. It was wonderful. I even saw the Pope at Sunday mass outside the cathedral πŸ™‚

    • I loved that you could turn a corner and right there in front of you was a huge iconic landmark, they almost just popped up out of nowhere. And the piazzas and fountains…I could walk for a week and not get bored!

Leave a Reply

