10 Things To Do At The Beach

My very favourite part about living on the Gold Coast is the beach. Let’s get real, it’s WHY we live here. The outdoors, the sun, the water, the weather. The 6 weeks of rain we had almost sent every Gold Coaster certifiably crazy. The truth is, the Gold Coast is pretty boring without the outdoors.

Last night, as we were sitting in the park, looking at the ocean, eating our BBQ dinner, I started thinking about how many things you can do at the beach. There’s more than just swimming and sunbathing, you know! I wondered if others, who were visiting the Gold Coast, knew about all the awesome activities living by the beach had to offer. Here some things you can do at the beach:

1. Go for a run (or bike or walk) along the beach front. The Gold Coast has more than 50km of beach, and most of that is pathed for walking, riding, running along. You get a fantastic view, usually a nice breeze, and you get some exercise in, to boot! perfect! When I first started running I had to go to the beach to do it. The inspiring view pushed me along that little bit further.

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.45.07 PM

2. Have a BBQ or picnic in the park. The absolute best part about Gold Coast parks (I’m guessing parks all across Australia?) is that there are well-maintained BBQs readily available for anyone to use! It has long been a tradition of ours to have a BBQ breakfast at the beach every Christmas morning. We try to do it as much as possible throughout the rest of the year, too – fresh air, yummy food, what else do you need?! Just make sure you clean it best you can for the next person coming along!

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.57.21 PM

3. Play cricket (or footy, or frisbee). I’m a bit disappointed that I don’t have one of these photos on my phone/instagram account. I will endeavor to correct that as soon as possible. In the meantime, here’s a photo from pinterest, showing just how awesome a game of beach cricket can be!

Beach_cricket_070410

(Source)

4. Lay in the dunes and read a book. You’ll sometimes find beaches that have trees in the dunes, providing some shade for a late afternoon relax and read on the beach. There is nothing more peaceful than the sound of the waves, a cool breeze, and a great book to while away the hours.

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.54.48 PM
5. Build  sand castles. You can get as fancy with this as your creativity or imagination will let you. I’m not very artistic, so I tend to build your typical sand-bucket-castle, but I’ve seen all kinds of things made on the beach, from massive whales, to crocodiles, to turtles, to pirates…go crazy! And then have fun destroying it! After you Instagram it of course!

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.38.24 PM

6. Fly a kite. We got this great kite from friends who went to Bali. It is certainly an eye-catcher, flying down the beach! The only problem with this, is that kids can get quite bored of it quite quickly. It’s usually the adults who are more interested in kite flying!

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.54.55 PM

7. Go for a surf or boogie board. Nick got a boogie board for Christmas and it’s taken him a while to warm up but he absolutely LOVES it now! He has no fear, and fist pumps the air when he rides a wave all the way into the shore! Even the Mechanic and I have  a blast catching a wave! Fun for young and old! You can even take a proper surfing lesson if you’re so inclined.

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.39.28 PM

8. Look for shells. Some beaches are better for this than others. This picture was taken at our local beach, near the rocks at the headland. I am still not sure how they all get there, but I love looking for cool, unusual or massive whole shells. We bring them home, wash them and put them either in the fish tank or a vase that sits on the TV stand.

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.44.59 PM

9. Draw in the sand. This pic was originally taken for a Fat Mum Slim PhotoADay prompt, but we’ve since done more drawing in the sand. Write your name, draw shapes, write something to remember your holiday. Grab a stick and have at it!

Screen Shot 2013-04-02 at 12.38.16 PM

10. If you’re a local, join a surf club! Surf clubs have supporter memberships that are usually $10 or less for the year. Most of them will get you a 10% discount on food, and they often have member draws for cash or prizes. If you have kids, they can join nippers where they can learn about surf safety and grow their confidence in the ocean.

Screen Shot 2013-04-03 at 6.51.58 AM

53 thoughts on “10 Things To Do At The Beach

  1. Aroha, we have traveled to many corners of the world and my favourite place for a family holiday is always the Gold Coast – I can’t get enough! Its only April and I have already started dropping hints “want to go back to the GC this summer?” Yes, 3 times in a row – but really that sand, surf and sun – I’ll take it 100 times in a row!
    So awesome that you live there lovely xx

  2. Gorgeous photos. I love the beach even the little one in Melbs is great having come from the uk. I’ve yet to run on the beach though must check that off my to do list. Love the BBQs too we have been making the most of them. X

  3. Love doing most of the things you listed. I miss living near the beach and only wish I could pop down in an afternoon with a book.

    Which beach has all those shells? So many beaches here are almost bare of shells.- deb xx

    • The shelly beach is down at Burleigh. I’m still not sure where they all come from or how they get there! I couldn’t imagine NOT living near the beach now. We are only 5 minutes drive away from our nearest beach and it’s still not close enough!

  4. Yes all of those things are fabulous fun and not just at the Gold Coast.
    Like Deb above, let us know which beach has those shells, I’ll be there in a heartbeat!
    Becc @ Take Charge Now

  5. I too loveeee living by the beach!!! But your beach would see a bit more sunshine than mine!! The pic for drawing in the sand is amae and i loveee the one of Nick and The amexhanic boogy boarding!!!
    I must re visit the goldy some time soon!
    Xx

  6. I love living here too – not that we ever go to the beach but then we lived in Durban and never went to the beach either !! We are just not sand people.
    Having said that I do enjoy walking/running along the Broadwater – where there is no sand !
    Have the best week and take care !
    Love, hugs and positive energy.
    Me

  7. A favourite of ours is the sand writing. Also, war. They each build fort some distant apart and then when they are ready they throw ‘bombs’ at each others to see who’s falls first. That is a brilliant kite! Love the boogie boarding action photo!

  8. My family live up that way, so we holiday on the Gold Coast 3 times a year. My goal, is within the next 5 years to move from Sydney up there. What a great place to raise kids!

  9. I take kites to the beach and everyone thinks I’m weird (well, my friends, not strangers) It’s so zen flying kites, especially if there’s a bit of work to get them over the eddys…

    • There’s nothing better than having a nice hot day, popping up your beach tent, floating over the waves, snoozing in the shade, building sandcastles….there’s nowhere else I’d rather live!

  10. We live near the beach and I love how we can go and take a late afternoon stroll in the middle of the week and just enjoy the waves and the last ray’s of the day.
    We definitely live in a blessed country!

  11. I’d love to have a really nice beach near here that we could just live at. And we would too if we could. When we were in SA over Christmas, we spent so much time at the beach. There is nothing like it.

    • He turns 5 at the end of June. Is that when they start? I am not sure if he’d like it or not, but will look into it. Trying to get him to try as much as possible and the pick what he likes.

  12. I have to confess that we are not beachgoers at all, even though we live 20 mins from several Newcastle beaches. I have to admit that I love the idea of the beach rather than the reality! Hoping the sunshine continues for you now the rain has cleared!

Leave a comment