My Most Expensive Pair Of Shoes

I officially hit the end of my “mid 30s” this week. Next year I’ll be in my “late 30s”. How the fuck did that happen?

Typically for my birthday I don’t “need” anything because I usually get what I want throughout the year anyway. This year I got a CaffItaly coffee machine and milk frother “for my birthday”. Two months ago. It was an “early present.”

So I decided this year I wanted Ugg boots “for my birthday.” But the husband said, “You already got your coffee machine!” Damn. He remembered. I’m like a 5 year old when it comes to buying things “It can be an early/late birthday/Christmas present!” depending on what time of year it is.

Now, to put things in perspective, I am the cheapest person I know. As in, I don’t really like to pay more than $30 for any one item. Shoes, shirts, dresses, handbags…$30 is around my price point. So the thought of spending $100+ on a pair of Ugg boots made me a bit sick to my stomach. I’ve only ever spent $60 on a pair of Hush Puppies, $80 on a pair of nude heels that were marked down from some ridiculous price and almost $200 on a pair of running shoes. The rest of my shoes are mostly $15 flats from Target. And I wonder why my feet, knees and legs hurt.

So last Tuesday I found a brochure for an Ugg factory near my husband’s work, laying on the kitchen table. I figured he’d stopped in and looked at them, but they were much more expensive than a site online I had found. Then he text me “Leaving all kinds of hints now aren’t you, with this brochure?” “I thought it was yours” I replied. “Nope, not mine.” “Oh, it must have come in the mail then.” But I’d never seen them in the mail before.

Fast forward to Friday, and I get home from work after a kinda long crappy day. Another visit to the doctor, 3 nights of terrible sleep and coughing. And Nick says, “We have a surprise for you!”

Ugg boots. From the factory. “For my birthday.” They couldn’t wait until Wednesday, I had to have them NOW!

photo 2

And I love them.

Some people spend money on Jimmy Choos. Some people spend money on Manolo Blahniks. Me? My most expensive pair of shoes are slippers.

Do you have Uggs? Do you love them? Or do you prefer Jimmy Choos?

Linking up with Essentially Jess for I Blog On Tuesdays

52 thoughts on “My Most Expensive Pair Of Shoes

  1. I am a bit the same, love my ugg’s! You cant beat them for quality really. I don’t spend much on shoes usually either. NIce that you got surprised too. Hubby finds it really hard to ever surprise me with gifts.

    • I have been hearing RAVE reviews about uggs for so long. I still thought that kind of money was ridiculous for boots. But now…oh I am a convert. I will be keeping a little stash of money to start saving for my next pair!

  2. I am a bag girl as I have bad feet but I would love uggs someday. My sister brought hers on her visit and since we wear the same size I borrowed them a couple of times. Enjoy. And I am the same with buying presents months in advance and claiming them for future events (do it with/for my kids too lol) deb xx

  3. I am the same as you except $20 is my limit!! I have a pair of fake uggs which I got from rivers or somewhere like it a couple of years ago!!
    Happy birthday, enjoy your uggs!!

  4. I love heels – of course my feet don’t. I have a mix of practical and cheap and a couple of impractical and expensive. My best buy are a pair of croc flats (not the normal sort, but closed in ballet-style flats). Wear them everywhere.

    • I love heels too, but my feet are big (size 11) and I am tall, and they are so uncomfortable…ahhh well. One day when I have expendable income I will wear comfy, real leather ballet flats in every colour 🙂

  5. I wanted a deadly good pair of uggies but couldn’t bring myself to spend the money either. I’d take some as a gift though 🙂
    My most expensive shoes are the Doc Martens I got fro my 17th birthday, that are still going strong 🙂

    • my mum got a pair of Rivers fakies this week! I might have to compare with her. We’ll see which pair lasts the most seasons! 😉 It IS a ridiculous amount of money. I’m trying not to think about it!

    • yeah, much harder to find a handbag for $30 or under. I did see one last week I loved that was reduced from $80 to $29! So they CAN be found. I got my mum to buy me a $60 handbag for my birthday 🙂

      • Good one. PS I just read your comment on my blog. You broke a rib coughing? I did that last year with whooping cough. It killed!! I didn’t know I had whooping cough until it had hung around for 6 weeks. You don’t have whooping cough do you? Busted rib is a pretty good sign … ouch!

  6. This is so beautiful! Love that you spend money on comfort. I think it is a very worthy purchase. My first Uggs were original and oh so expensive. Since then I haven’t been able to afford them, so had had to get cheap knock offs. Not nearly as good. Enjoy them!
    And curious- I am in my early 30’s. When do I get to the mid 30s? And when do the late 30s begin?

  7. Aww what a lovely surprise. They look super comfy. I’m the exact same as you. I hate spending more than $30 on shoes these days. Such a cheapskate 🙂

    • Yep, SO comfy and warm! Yet not sweaty AT ALL. That’s the key! Birthday and Christmas are only justifiable a few months a year, it’s getting creative through the rest of the year that takes talent. lol

  8. How sweet is your hubby?! I love that.
    Yeah, my shoe collection is not full of choos that’s for sure! I’m a Rubi flats girl myself.

  9. Those UGGs look soooo comfy!!!! and WARM!!! I must go get myself a pair soon! Admittedly I did try on some Choos for my wedding but the design that I like they did not have it in my size so in the end I had some Steve Maddens which I absolutely adored! Now I think I need to add an UGG to my collection!

  10. Happy Birthday! HAHA! I love my real UGGS. I say real cause I’m so happy I don’t have a stinky ass pair any more with the fake sheep fluff. My husband bought the real ones for me a couple years ago off one of those coupon sites or something. And then a year later I convinced him to buy himself some when they came up for sale on another one of those sites. SEE I’m cheap too. We have a no UGG boot rule in public, that goes for the garden/yardwork Crocs too. DO you have a rule?

    • We don’t have any rules, and while I haven’t worn them in public – YET – I can’t promise that I won’t at some point. haha! I wanted to get mine from one of those sites but my husband just went straight to the factory!

Leave a comment