Up And Running

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that it was time to either sell my camera, or put myself out there. Selling the camera seemed like the easy way out. It was certainly the most appealing way. Having to step way outside my comfort zone, putting my name to pictures, putting myself out there for criticism, expectations, business…it scared the crap out of me. It still does.

comfort zone

But the problem I have is that I tend to be one of those people who preaches to others about stepping outside their comfort zones. I tend to be an advocate for following your dreams, doing what you love. I tell people time and time again that if you’re not doing what you love, or at least trying to figure out what that is, you are not living your life how it was meant to be lived. And I have known for a while now I have not been living my life doing what I wanted to do. I was doing what was easy.

dowhatyoulove

So, I finally just did it. I decided on a name, created a blog, and updated and published my old Facebook Page. I also sent a message to some local friends, giving them all this information. I’m lucky to have such amazing friends who have already started sharing my information and have been so supportive and encouraging. I’ve also had at least 4 people tell me they’d like to book me to get some family photos done – as soon as this rain goes away.

Every one has to start somewhere. The wheels are in motion. I’m going to try. Because you know what happens when you try? You have a chance of succeeding.

afraid

It’s Tuesday, which means it’s I Blog On Tuesday’s linkup with Essentially Jess. Have you linked up yet?

*all images are my own

37 thoughts on “Up And Running

  1. I’ve just done it too!! Sure, it’s totally scary, but it also just feels right.
    It’s so easy to preach about living your dreams, but having a crack? That’s where the real magic lives. Who knows where the path ends, maybe somewhere totally different, but you need to start walking to find out.

  2. Congratulations! Well done for putting yourself out there – I am sure you will be a success. You have a wonderful talent, you just need to work on the confidence in your ability. Good luck xxxx

  3. Go, Aroha! You can totally do this! Don’t think of it as stepping out of your comfort zone, think that you’re just simply following your heart and passions 🙂 xxx

Leave a comment