For Sale

I was once asked, in a pseudo job interview type situation, “What are you good at?”

Well, being prepared was not one of my answers. I was blind-sided and unprepared. “Uhhh” I stammered. “Well, I’m good with people,” I responded. Which was a total LIE! I would rather not have to deal with people at ALL! “And I’m good at organizing,” I heard myself say. Now I was just scrambling for anything.

It dawned on me that I should really have a better answer for that question, and it should be stored somewhere in the space between my ears, ready for retrieval at any time. I need to know my assets and learn how to sell them.

I recently posted about a job interview I had. I was unsuccessful in my application, per the generic email I received the next day. I wasn’t surprised. In the interview I felt like things were going really well, but upon reflection, I realised we didn’t talk at all about my skills or abilities, or  my experience. They had no idea what I was or wasn’t capable of doing. How could they know, if didn’t even know? Or couldn’t articulate it? I had prepared for the interview by researching the company and coming up with some suggestions for ways to improve their online presence. I had even researched some of their competition to see what other companies in the same industry were doing. But I didn’t prepare anything about myself. I didn’t have a strategy for selling ME.

Oddly enough, I got an email a couple of days ago from one of the people who were in that interview. Three weeks later she basically wanted to let me know that she was impressed that I had taken the time to research the company and come up with some suggestions on things they could improve. She said I should go into future interviews with confidence because I had been a stand-out applicant. If only I’d got the job, I thought. But it was still really nice of her to take the time, all those weeks later, to send me that email. Because the next interview I get I will go in with more confidence, and her words playing in my mind.

So now, instead of being worried about walking the walk, I need to learn how to talk the talk, and learn how to sell myself in the next interview I have. Instead of stumbling over a few random answers, I need to be confident in my precise description of my abilities, skills and experience. Now all I have to do, is figure out what my abilities, skills and experiences ARE!

What are you good at? Can you sell yourself? Or do you sell yourself short?

Linking up (late) with Essentially Jess for #IBOT

7 thoughts on “For Sale

  1. You have so many different strengths and abilities and it’s all about being able to talk the talk. I reckon write a list of your amazing attributes, or steal one of the internet about what traits your chosen field should have and adapt it! I haven’t interviewed in more than 10 years… I hope I never need to again! x

  2. That is amazing that woman called you three weeks later and gave you such positive feedback. That is huge. Yep, definitely go into your next interview with confidence. You would be an asset to any organisation. You’re right though, it is hard to sell yourself. I go by the motto fake it til you make it baby 🙂

  3. I think you should keep in contact with that interviewer, you never know when the right position might come up at a later date. Crossing my fingers for you xx

  4. It’s great that she got back to you even though it sucks that you didn’t get the job. I always sell myself short and find it very hard to talk about my strengths. I have to talk to my boss about changing my hours – she doesn’t want me to – luckily someone has already mentioned that I am looking for another job and if she changed my hours, I wouldn’t get the reduced hours anywhere else so would probably stay. Here’s hoping she changes her mind so I don’t have to do more interviews to find somewhere else to work.
    Something will come up – you just have to be patient – as hard as that is. Being better prepared next time you get interviewed will be a huge plus in your favour.
    Have the best day !

  5. Selling yourself is always the hardest part of an interview, and the nerves never help. I haven’t had a lot of interviews, but being a natural talker, the ones I have had haven’t been too bad, thankfully. Dave is really bad at selling himself and it’s something that I’ve been trying to help him with. Thankfully he got a bit of really good experience in his last year of his apprenticeship when he was nominated as Apprentice of the Year and had to go to a couple of interviews and really sell himself. It’s been invaluable for him and hopefully will help when it comes time for him to put his hand up for more senior positions at work.

  6. It’s never easy saying what you’re good at, because we see our faults so much more clearly than others do. But it’s so awesome that she gave you that feedback. I bet you would be an asset to any company. Someone will realise that. xx

Leave a Reply

