Heaven is a Place on Earth

If there’s a heaven on earth, I think we found it on Tuesday. I had been wanting to go to this beach, this beach which shall remain nameless, lest you all infest it and ruin it for me. Ahem. What was I saying? Oh yes, I have been wanting to go to this beach for weeks now. I had hoped we would find it practically deserted, although being school holidays, I wasn’t so sure. After days of rain and storms, finally the one day that hubby and I both had off with zero other engagements arrived and it was the. most. perfect. day. It was a day that exemplifies the very definition of why we live where we live. THIS is why there is nowhere else in the world we would rather be.

IMG_4900

We arrived as two other parties with dogs were arriving, so I anticipated a beach filled with dogs and owners and chasing the dog around like we do when we go to the other, more popular dog beach on the Gold Coast. To say I was pleasantly surprised when we finally got to the beach (there’s about a 200m walk through bush) and saw the view above. No one else around as far as we could see.

IMG_4905

I can honestly say that the only downfall to this spot, apart from there being no bathroom facilities*, is that there are no lifeguards, so swimming was off limits. However, there was still plenty of opportunity for splashing in the water, walking along the beach, laying in the shade of our tent, snacking on our picnic, more splashing in the water, more walking along the beach…you get the point.

IMG_5076 IMG_5078

It was the perfect spot to unwind. Free from distractions, from other people. The perfect spot to leave every-day burdens and worries behind. To let future self and past self stew on their own without present self being involved.

It was the perfect spot to let go of all that 2014 had thrown at me. To focus on 2015, the year ahead. To think about what is important to me, what I want out of the next year (and life). The perfect spot to breathe in the fresh air and just be.

IMG_5152

I have a lot to look forward to this year. And I’ll be damned if I’m not going to make sure that everything is coming up ME by the end of it.**

Are you looking forward to 2015? Have you found your Heaven On Earth? 

*Although there IS a boat ramp just up the road in absolute desperation, and let’s face it, you can just pee in the ocean. There are also ample bushes although who knows what you’d find in said bushes. 

** I love that saying but don’t get anywhere near enough chances to use it. 

Linking up with Grace, for the first time in way too long, for Flog Yo’ Blog Friday! 


5 thoughts on “Heaven is a Place on Earth

Leave a Reply

