A Letter to 2014

Dear 2014,

Previously, at the end of the year, I would write a recap of the year gone by. We had some pretty exciting years for a while there. Big life events, including getting married, moving to another country and having a baby. 2006, 2007, 2008 was a run of excitement. Then things turned pretty rotten. The good life events were replaced by average or terrible ones. Like losing a parent. Losing an uncle. Family moving away. Being stressed out and stuck in dead-end situations. Dealing year in year out with infertility while everyone around us had babies.

2014, while you have not been spectacular, you haven’t been quite as devastating as more recent years. Sure there were quite a few low lights. Losing a dear friend to Breast Cancer hit the hardest. There were other tragedies that, while not so close to home, still resonated with me. The Sydney siege, the multiple plane crashes/disappearances to name just a few. But this year, for the first time in a few years, there were a few highlights also. We moved from our unit into a house, with a massive backyard. The extra space has been wonderful for our little family. We can entertain, our 6 year old has heaps of room to play. And most importantly, it gave us space to welcome Maggie May to the family.

20140727-163324-59604114.jpg

 

image

 

 

I also completed my first year of my masters in marketing. A feat I often times thought impossible, given all the other things I had on my plate. It amazes me that I was able to earn 3 distinctions and a credit while studying online as well as doing an internship, working part time, and still having time for my family, tennis and personal training.

But it’s no wonder that by the middle of October I was completely burned out. I was burning the candle at both ends and running out of wax. A quick get away to Sydney with friends, a short visit to my newest nephew, 2 months off personal training and tennis and I feel a bit renewed again. Ready to take on 2015 and whatever it might bring.

cousins

I used to believe in new years, new starts, new opportunities. But ultimately it doesn’t matter what date you write down, what number is at the beginning or the end of that date. Each day is just that – another day in this life-long journey, however long that might be.

In 2015 I will continue to work on my fitness and health, I will complete my masters degree. I will try to live by the motto “If you don’t like it, change it.” And I will work harder to be kinder. To myself, to my loved ones, to the people around me. But mostly to myself. There are enough critics through our lives without us being our own worst ones and adding to it.

I know that 2015 will have it’s challenges, but I know it will also have highlights that will make those challenges worth it. So my new years wish for all of you, is that 2015 sees you grow stronger through your challenges and keeps you smiling through your highlights.

Goodbye 2014. You were alright.

Happy-New-Year-06-500x281
(source)
Leave a Reply

