In The Name of Learning

My fellow bloggers, I come to you today in the name of education. In the name of learning. In the name of … oh crap, I have an assignment due and it involves collecting data and I am 2 weeks behind!

As some of you may know, I’m currently a university student, studying to get my masters in marketing. This semester one of my classes is market research and as such, I have created a survey so as to collect data and write a research paper on children between the ages of 5 and 15 and social media. To be honest I’m not entirely sure I’m doing it all right. I’m not entirely sure I’m collecting the right data I need for my paper. But I am learning. And trying. And am here asking for your help.

If you have a child (or children) between the ages of 5 and 15, and have approximately 6 minutes and 38 seconds spare at some point today, or tomorrow, if you could go to this survey:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/KL39JWF

and complete it for me, I’d be forever grateful! Of course, I’m not collecting any personal data, so I won’t know you did it, but I will still appreciate it all the same.

This whole uni thing while working a paid job, an unpaid internship, while still trying to be a good wife and mother is overwhelming all the time at times. More often than not I feel like I am in over my head. Then somehow I manage to pull out half decent grades. It makes me think maybe I *can* do it after all. Just a couple more assignments and then I have 3 months off and am officially half way through my degree. This time next year I will be so close I’ll be able to taste that piece of paper I am doing this all for.

If you don’t have time to do the survey, or your kids don’t fall into the age group, then a comment with some advice on how to keep my shit together and not going completely insane with so much going on would be greatly appreciated.

And as always, I am linking up with the awesome Jess for IBOT.

Although I am an hour behind and the link goes live at 5:30 QLD time (just another reason to get DST reinstated in QLD I think!)

17 thoughts on “In The Name of Learning

  1. I’m no help as have the wrong age children and struggling to keep my shit together too but I’m commenting in solidarity. Go girl keep going you’re doing awesome. *virtual high five*

  2. Aroha, you are an inspiration returning to uni when you have a job and a child and so much going on. It must be hard work!! I don’t know how you do it. You’re obviously doing an amazing job if you’re pulling out great results. Hang in there. It will be worth it in the end. Just remember to be kind to you and take time out when you need it. I’m envious. I’d love to do a marketing degree.

  3. Wish I could help with your survey but, alas, I don’t have children. I can help with moral support though. What you’re doing is awesome! Juggling a gzillion things is certainly trick but (as you say) the end is in sight. You will get there (I promise) x

  4. Wow. You’ve got a lot on your plate! I can see why you’re behind with your assignment. I only have kidlets under 5, so sorry I can’t help with your research. I’d say make sure you have some little moment to yourself each day to just be and to allow all the crazy busy stuff fly by for just a second whilst you find your balance. Have a bath, put on the kettle, watch a telly show or have a snuggle with your lovelies. Maybe that will help your brain??

  5. Sorry I don’t have a child in the right age but I will pass this on to a friend who has two children in the right age group.
    I think you need to cut yourself some slack – you are doing a great job. Having been through the whole working 70hr weeks while studying 2 nights a week and 1 day a weekend while having a family I know it isn’t easy. What I did learn was to (a) pick my battles with my family – some things just aren’t worth the argument and (b) MAKE time for myself to re-charge and keep going. That hour every couple of days to just lie in the bath and attempt to switch off, while it may seem like a luxury – is a total necessity. And let’s be honest, you can find an hour every couple of days if you really need it. Just plan it into your day along with cooking, homework, FB time, blogging, shopping, TV time etc – it can be done – you just need to block it in your diary and make it a not negotiable.
    Good luck – and have the best week that you can given your staycation last week !!!!
    Me xox

  6. Aren’t we just crazy for all that we put ourselves through? But somehow we manage – and you will too. Just take things one at a time, take 3 months off for you sanity and come and get drunk with me to release some steam, or maybe just tiddly so we don’t get hangovers. Off to do the survey now xxx

  7. Studying when you have a life is sooooooooo hard. I can’t believe I thought uni was a slog the first time around – when i was single, no job, kids to look after, big decisions to make etc. Now, its such a balancing act, so I admire you for your perseverance and it WILL pay off eventually. Zebby’s not the right age sorry, but good luck with your research, Im sure you will ace it xxxxx

  8. Off to do the survey Aroha – you really are rocking it. I went back and started a masters in 2009 and it was full-on when I did two subjects a semester while working full-time with one child. I got good grades too, but didn’t complete it because circumstances changed, but I can see you nailing it. Linda is right though – don’t forget sometime for self-care amidst all the stress. X

  9. My girls aren’t the right age but gosh you juggle a lot on your plate. Just prioritise and take one step or tackle one task at a time and when it’s holidays enjoy them and treat yourself to something for making it through. 🙂

  10. You must have reached your target because it said survey closed for me, so congratulations! I have no tips for keeping to together because I barely keep what I have together but please take care of yourself xx

  11. I just found out too – the survey is closed.
    Write it down (I should take my own advice) .
    Just hang in there. Look how far you have come 🙂

  12. Good luck with your assignment!! Unfortunately I don’t come under the people you need!!!! Best wishes – my advice is eat a square of chocolate every time you finish a page in your assignment!! xx

Leave a Reply

