5 Things I Wish I’d Wanted To Be When I Grew Up

Isn’t it cute when we’re kids and we want to be hair dressers and flight attendants? Oh, come on, I know I’m not the only woman in her mid-30s who, as a child, wanted to do those things. I honestly don’t even remember wanting to be anything else. Not until I got older, then I thought I was going to be the next Annika Sorrenstam. Yeah, THAT didn’t happen! Neither did the hair dresser and flight attendant thing though. Ironically, I’m terrified to fly, I can’t think of a worse-fitting profession!

But now that I am older, there are lots of professions that I wish I had wanted to pursue, but they weren’t even on my radar back then. And I’ve often wondered, people who enter these professions, at what age did they start working towards it and how did they know that’s what they wanted to do? These are jobs I think would pay well, have flexible hours, and be somewhat rewarding. I think they’d be perfect for the woman who one day wants to be a working mum while still earning good money and having some flexibility. Here goes:

1. A doctor. Fair enough, it’s a LOT of hard work early on, and for years, but once you’re established, if you’re any good and depending on your specialty, there is mucho moola to be made, and you basically set your own hours!

2. A lawyer. Not one of those trial lawyers who work ridiculous hours with research and fact finding and all that junk, but maybe a contract lawyer, who can still make lots of money in part time jobs.

3. An accountant. Hey, not all accountants are boring! Plus, the potential to earn mega bucks is there, and also to work part time and from home.

4. An international super rock-star! Pink. I rest my case.

5. A Hollywood A-Lister. Pick and choose your movies, make shit loads of money and then do whatever you want, whenever you want!

So maybe the last 2 aren’t very realistic, I can’t sing OR act and I don’t like to be the center of attention, but the other 3 may have been, if I wasn’t so focused on my sports and spent more time studying. Instead, I find myself in my mid-30s, back at university, studying something I hope I am going to enjoy doing for a job but with far less confidence than the first time I went through this university thing.

Tell me, what do you do? Is it flexible? Does it pay well? Are you hiring? 🙂

8 thoughts on “5 Things I Wish I’d Wanted To Be When I Grew Up

  1. *Hand up* I was one of the girls who wanted to be a hair dresser or an air hostess – for a long time – until I realised that I had two left hands when it comes to anything hair related and I found out that you had to heaps of domestic flying before any international flights and thought that was boring !!!!
    As an accountant, maybe if I my CPA I could make it working for myself but honestly, I think I’m too lazy and scared to be totally responsible for finding work to bring in the money. Having said that, as a financial accountant, I’m pretty happy with my work and the house aren’t too bad. I’m trying to negotiate a 9 day fort-night – not sure if I will get it right or not !!! Wish me luck.
    Have the best day !
    Me xox

  2. I’d go for 5… or even a D Lister! Cos… free stuff!

    I’ve changed careers a million times. Twice before I even finished my undergrad degree (commerce then psych) and then did an MBA to move from the social sector into project management. Then a heap of time in government and now – well… not sure… but I say I’m a freelance blogger and writer.

    Interestingly I was briefly enrolled in journalism at Uni about 25yrs ago!

  3. I wanted to be the next Kylie Minogue. Or a guitar. Or editor of the world. Still kinda want that last one!

    I’m a freelancer. Copywriting and proofreading. The hourly rate is excellent (am I allowed to say it’s because I’m really good at it?), but the work is (not surprisingly) irregular and if we were relying on my wage to support the family I wouldn’t be able to do it. That said, I think I’m about to land a regular monthly gig. Fingers crossed.

    I’m not hiring ;). But good luck!!

  4. I do a mix…I have a degree in Anthropology so jobs are scarce (eg Cultural Heritage Management, various types of social research) and in between ‘real’ jobs I take office admin/temp/whatever jobs. I’m also building everrrr so slowly my own few things, with the eventual goal of working primarily for myself.

  5. You’ve got some big money professions there girl.. but really a doctor? ICK. I think numbers will be less gruesome to deal with, well unless you are my accountant! BOOM TISH! Thanks for linking my friend xxx

  6. I wanted to be a make up artist, I ended up being a stock broker and now I work for a charity teaching social workers about money…. I guess that is the perfect job for someone who calls themselves Money Mummy!

Leave a Reply

