There’s A Kookaburra In My Tree

I decided this morning to unplug the laptop, take it outside, and sit in the sun to read IBOT posts. I hadn’t written one, but that wasn’t completely unusual these days.

Coffee by my side, sun at my back…oh wait, that doesn’t work with a laptop, I’ll have to turn around. Coffee by my side, sun now in my face, lost in others’ words, I heard a commotion behind me. A dozen birds were chasing each other through my back yard and up into the trees, and then I saw her. Her, because she is too peaceful and still to be a him. She’s sitting in my tree, watching all the other birds. She’s like the mother hen, watching over all the chicks who are playing and causing a raucous.

The birds have spread out now, calling to each other from separate trees, having big conversations about I don’t know what. I used to hate the birds. They’d wake us up at 4:20 am in the summer time because we had a tree right outside our window. Now that we’ve moved, we’ll have to wait a few months to see if we have the same problem here. But this morning, since I’m already awake and on to my second coffee, their tunes and conversations are almost enchanting.

As I slowly approach to get a picture of her, I see another one in the tree just at the back of our fence. Kookaburras aren’t all that common any more it seems. I’ve certainly not noticed them here before. Just as I am thinking “I hope she stays” I turn and she’s gone.

Perhaps she’s decided all is right with this yard, on to the next. Or perhaps she figures “Well she’s not going to feed me, I’ll go find someone who will.” Either way, I’m glad I came outside today and that she stayed for a while. It feels like a good way to start the day.

photo (2)

 

What are you finding joy in today? And have you linked up for IBOT with Essentially Jess?

6 thoughts on “There’s A Kookaburra In My Tree

  1. Beautiful. Sounds absolutely perfect. I love Kookaburras. I always get a little excited when I see or hear one xx

Leave a Reply

