Anxiety

I’ve briefly discussed my fears here before, the biggest one being flying. This week’s events in Asia have certainly not done anything to subside those fears.

I’ve also discussed my diagnoses with PPD that took 18 months to get after I had my son, now 5. And how every time I feel a little sad for more than a couple of days, I worry that I’m slipping back into that fog.

Up until recently, these were my only major health issues. I would say I’ve been pretty lucky. So when I found out one of my front teeth had cracked in the gum and got an infection, I freaked out. Long story short, I now have an implant in and a temporary tooth. But since the procedure almost 2 weeks ago, I have felt worse than I ever have. I’ve had a host of blood tests which were all normal, or at least marked “No Action” by my doctor. “That’s good then!” people say. Is it? If there’s nothing in those results, then what is wrong with me? This week I have an ECG and 24 hour heart monitor holter. The way I see it, there are two possible outcomes. Well, really three.

1. Something is going on with my heart. If that’s the case, I just hope it’s something not too major…and that it doesn’t require me to give up coffee or alcohol.

2. Nothing is wrong with my heart. And we have to dig deeper to find out what is going on. Not sure what the next step would be though. MRI? Maybe it’s a tumor? {insert best Arnie voice}

{source}

3. The whole thing is in my head and has been brought on by stress and anxiety. I know that stress does stupid things to your body and mind. I know that I’ve had plenty of things to stress about over the last month or so – having a screw drilled into my jaw bone, the thought of having a missing front tooth for months (which thankfully didn’t happen), starting uni (which I am feeling extremely overwhelmed in), the thought of possibly moving house (which I don’t think we are)…then of course there’s the whole not feeling well and thinking the worst which causes more anxiety and palpitations. It’s just a vicious cycle.

{source}

I must admit, I’m starting to feel like a bit of a fruit loop. I’ve always been quite healthy. I’ve always taken my health for granted. I feel like I was at a point where I was the fittest and strongest I’d probably ever been, and now all I want to do is lay down and/or sleep all the time. I’m starting to understand why celebrities check themselves into rehab for “exhaustion”. Maybe a week at a hotel with people making my bed and cooking my food would fix me right up?

Do you suffer from anxiety? Does it play havoc with your body?

Linking up with Alicia at One Mother Hen for Open Slather

5 thoughts on “Anxiety

  1. Wow, so much I can relate to. Am very much in the same place, possibly a bit worse judging by the thoughts in my head today. I keep telling myself it’s just one of those down periods you have to experience to appreciate the good ones, but I’m not really convinced, lol.

    Hope you can shake it off soon. Xxx

  2. Oh hunny, it’s hard when you can’t see the other side of things. Maybe a break away IS what you need. A weekend of nothing, the beach, or mountains to get some perspective, sounds like you’re getting all worried out – HUGS xxx

  3. Oh, you are just like me…whenever I’m told everything’s OK but I still don’t feel right, I worry and really analyse everything, a bad habit. But, on the other hand, I know my body better than anyone else. Anxiety sucks big time and like you, it’s something I’ve been struggling with for a while. I was diagnosed with PND when my son was 19 months too, felt like I lost so much time emotionally with him…anyway, back on track..I think it’s highly likely it has something to do with your stress and anxiety levels. It most certainly does put a huge strain on your body and also doesn’t help your body to recover from surgeries, illnesses etc. I really hope everything is OK for you, and as hard as it may be, try to relax and not think of the worst.

  4. OMG! I’ve found my long long twin sister, Anxiety Girl! I am not always anxious, but boy can my mind bring up the worst case scenarios!
    I have heard that tooth problems can bring on lots of other health problems. I hope it is nothing serious with you, I would feel so bad for you, if you had to give up coffee and god forbid alcohol! I was so saying ‘tooumer’ like Arnie 😀

  5. Oh heavens a week of being fed and having my own bed made would do me the world of good. Nothing to worry about but myself, oh my, I can only imagine. Sorry to hear of all your worries lovely, just try and breathe and relax I am sure it will all work out for the best. I have known a few people who have worn those heart monitors and it all turned out to be just fine for them. That airplane tragedy is awful though. Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way

Leave a Reply

