Thankful Thursday

It’s been a while since I did one of these Thankful Thursday posts, because honestly, it’s been a while since I felt thankful for much. 

But I do feel thankful today. Thankful to each of you who left a comment on my woe-is-me, everything-sucks post from Monday. I was not in a good place Monday morning, with so much uncertainty around several aspects of life. 

Yet here I am, just a few days later, and I already have my tooth fixed. That happened yesterday, and while it was quite stressful spending the day hoping everything was going to be ok, worrying if the wound was bleeding too much, worrying if I’d wake in the middle of the night with a mouth full of blood, etc. I am glad it is over and seems to have gone well. The dentist gave it a “95-98% chance” of being good. He said everything went fine and at this stage less than 5% of implants fail. I’m happy with those odds, and thankful for a dentist who acted quickly. Here’s what he had to pull out – in 2 pieces because it had a root fracture and was severely infected. No wonder I’ve felt so crap for a while!

Image

 

And here’s what it looked like when I came home from the dentist: 

Image

 

And here’s what it looks like this morning: 

Image

 

This is only a temporary tooth. If the implant settles into place and the bone and tissue grow around it securing it in place, then I’ll have a permanent crown put on it in 5-6 months. I am so glad to have that tooth out, but let me tell you, I was so nervous going in. Having never had a tooth extraction, I didn’t really know what to expect. The easy-as-piss animated tooth extraction on this site made it look quite straight forward. I have to say, I’m REALLY thankful for anaesthetic and happy gas! I was high as a kite while they pulled that tooth out, thank GOD, because boy did it seem like they had to work hard to get it out. 

Since Monday, I’m also thankful that my camera has sold (pending payment!). The guy who bought it is hoping to get down to pick it up today, if not today then on the weekend. I’ll believe it once I’ve got the cash in my bank account. I am sad to have sold it, and I’ve second-guessed several times whether it WAS in fact the right thing to do, and I’m still not entirely convinced. But I know I will get another one one day, and right now, the money will help pay for yesterday’d procedure and a few other things, too. So now all that’s left to worry about really, and I’m not that worried about them, is starting uni next week, possibly moving, and hubby’s career change, which isn’t going to be an overnight thing so absolutely no point in worrying about that. 

Thank you all for your support Monday. The comments meant a lot to me and really helped me get through a really stressful couple of days. 

Now I’m thankful for feeling well enough this morning to go do some shopping. Alone! 

What are you thankful for this Thankful Thursday? 

Linking up with Rhi at A Parenting Life for Thankful Thursday for the first (but not last!) time.

 

 

24 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Wow it looks way better this morning and I’m so stoked that it’s not been the drama we first thought YIPPEEE! Shopping alone, jealous. I want you to take me in a few weeks to spend a voucher I got for my birthday, need to get out of black and boring and into feminine and funky! Happy Thursday gorg, see Sat x

  2. That looks great – bet you are happy to get rid of the pain and infection!!!!! To paraphrase the Dalai Lama “If there is no solution to the problem then don’t waste time worrying about it. If there is a solution to the problem then don’t waste time worrying about it.”
    Enjoy your shopping xxx

    • I am SO GLAD to be rid of the infection and pain and discomfort! I still have a bit of tenderness but it should all be good in a couple of weeks and in my head I know that nasty tooth that was pulled is GONE and not doing any more damage! x

  3. So glad that it all went well for you lovely. I know only too well the angst that can be caused by dentists. Sending lots of fairy wishes and butterfly kisses your way. And how exciting for uni! I am starting next week as well, what are you studying?

    Thanks so much for joining in with #thankfulthursday as well.

  4. Glad you are feeling better sweetie.
    I hate the dentist, I am petrified of the needles…..not the procedure itself, I know that I have to go, I have a tooth that is broken and needs taking out and replaced but I am so scared that I have put up with it.
    Sorry that you had to sell your camera, I hope that a new one is somewhere in your near future. Love and hugs xx

    • that’s funny, the needles don’t bother me one little bit. It’s funny, isn’t it, what people can be afraid of and how it affects one person to the next. If you have a tooth that’s broken I really recommend getting it out, I felt practically instantly better having mine out! It had been causing havoc for 2 months (I think more to be honest) and it’s no good for the rest of your health. Ask for the inhaler sedation, I don’t remember what it was called, but like an asthma puffer full of happiness 😉

  5. Glad the comments helped, glad the tooth is fixed (but can I say, while I am totally okay with snakes and even spiders, your extracted tooth freaks me out – so no thanks for that).
    You will get a new and even better camera down the line, so hold on to that thought…

    • it does help getting it all out, and receiving such great support in return. I think it’s easy to feel alone, like no one else has ever felt so overwhelmed, then you realise you’re not alone at all!

  6. Your tooth looks great! I am so glad that it all went well for you, I can’t imagine how scary it must have been facing the prospect of no tooth at all! I must get to the dentist, I’ve just discovered a hole in the back of the tooth next to my front tooth and I am terrified that’s it’s going to fall out! Your post has reminded me to call and make an appointment. xx

    • a hole!? hopefully they’ll just fill it. it’s no fun losing a tooth in the front. I already had a fake one there from an accident when I was a kid. I really don’t need any more teeth drama! Hope your’s is a quick and easy fix. x

    • It is ok! It will do for 6 months until I get the real one. It still feels weird and I’m still adjusting to it. Not smiling quite as big as I used to but at least there’s no gap and I *can* smile!

Leave a Reply

