FebWhat?

Back in January I decided I was going to do FebFast. I thought, “I did Ocsober, that was 31 days, February is only 28. I am all over this shiz.” I had a friend’s 40th birthday party February 1st, but got permission from the awesome Jess to run to March 2nd to make up for missing the first day – shouldn’t have to miss out on a 40th party after all, right? Maybe that was the beginning of the end.

I don’t drink a lot by most standards. But I thought it was a good idea to do a bit of a detox every few months. There’s FebFast, Dry July and Ocsober that I know about, perhaps more? Those months seemed evenly enough spaced that it would make for 3 good months a year of no drinking. I didn’t think my biggest problem was the Bacardi I love so much, but rather all the coke I drink with it.

Then this month I got some crap(pish) news. It would seem one of my front teeth is cracked. In the gum. Awesome. Shit. The tooth is wobbly, and every now and then leaks crappy tasting stuff out of the back of it. That can’t be good. I have been feeling “off” for months and months. I’m now more convinced than ever that it is because of what is going on in my gum.

The short story is the dentist I went to recommends pulling the tooth and replacing it with one of a few options. A denture. No thanks, I’m not 80 YET. A bridge. Or an implant. Hear that? It’s the sound of my bank account and credit card taking a full on beating.

So, as lame as an excuse as it may seem, I thought, “Fuck this shit” (sorry for the expletives), “I need a drink!” and on Valentine’s Day, out for dinner with my two loves, I had, and thoroughly enjoyed, 2 Bacardi and cokes. However, in order to stop drinking so much coke, I decided to switch to Vodka and do Vodka, lime sodas. Well. Saturday night I had 2 of those, and fell asleep putting Nick to bed at 7pm. At 7:45pm I went to the couch where I started snoring, and then woke up and decided I should just go to bed. Maybe I shouldn’t drink after a 16 hour day. Or maybe I should never take 2 weeks off drinking again, as clearly it WAY lowers my tolerance.

Screen Shot 2014-02-16 at 8.35.05 pm

The dentist sent me to get an I-CAT. Being the Apple girl I am, I got all excited at the idea, until I realised it was a full 3-D scan of my scull. That is not in Apple’s online store.

While waiting to see if the scan had come up well enough or if I’d have to be strapped and tortured  scanned again I saw an oldish lady going into the CT room. This was in the Women’s Imaging center. I heard things about injections, annoying computer voices telling her to take a deep breath and hold it, a woman talking to her, and I realised that maybe things weren’t so bad after all. Money is just money, teeth are just teeth, but at the end of the day, having your health is the most important thing in the world. If I have to have a new fake tooth and give an arm or a leg for it (I already told them they couldn’t have my first (ONLY!) born), then I would take that any day over having a CT scan to see if the cancer was gone, or had spread.

Perspective. We could all use some. Often. Just like alcohol. I could definitely use some. Often. Even if it means I FebFailed.

Linking up with Kirsty for I Must Confess

My Home Truths
7 thoughts on “FebWhat?

  1. It’s good to get a little perspective sometimes, isn’t it? I like how you’ve pointed out how all those months are reasonably spaced throughout the year. I may have to get on the bandwagon but given the day I’ve had I may very well fail that challenge too!

  2. Your tooth doesn’t sound good, especially if it is making you ill. Same dentists are so expensive. I’ve just spent a small fortune on myself with more to come and my daughter is needing both braces and her jaw realigned. While the cost is making me nauseous the actual procedure is not something I’m looking forward to and I’m not even having the procedure.

  3. Oh Aroha that’s terrible and can totally understand why you broke FebFast! The last time I went to the dentist was just before my sisters 21st… She turns 33 this year :((
    Probably something I should do but never seem to have time and I’m not sure I’d like what they say!

  4. Aroha, hubby is in the same situation… The dentist already pulled out the tooth and now he’s looking at options to replace it… It’s painful but, as you say, it’s good to have some perspective.

  5. Best of luck with your dental procedures. I’m sure it will work out well. I’ve always been a cheap drunk in the sense of – two drinks and I’m sleepy. I’ve never thought of doing Febfast or Ocsober, though. I’d forget what day or month it was and drink!

  6. Ouch your tooth sounds painful. I did Dry July last year and vowed to never ever do anything like it again. I’m happy to contribute to other people doing it but I just don’t want to do it personally again.

Leave a Reply

