2013: The Year That Was

“We haven’t done much this year” I said to The Mechanic. Usually there’s a holiday we can talk about, an achievement, some kind of highlight of the year. I was forgetting at the time that my husband completed the 96km Gold Coast Kokoda Challenge back in July. An achievement not many people can say they’ve done.

I was also forgetting that the biggest event in my son’s life also happened – he did his first year of “big school”!

_MG_8828

We did manage to escape home for a 5 day holiday up near Hervey Bay.

_MG_0996edit

I loved that area up there. It was perhaps just a little too far to drive – 5 hours each way – but the serenity was exactly the kind of holiday I was looking for. We tend to run ourselves ragged on holidays, trying to fit as much in as possible. When there’s no much to do you’re forced to actually relax and unwind. I hope there’s much more relaxing and unwinding in 2014.

At the end of 2012 I got a new baby niece. In early 2013 I got a new nephew to match! All this time I’ve hoped for a baby of our own, getting a new niece and nephew with in months of each other was a suitable alternative.
Screen Shot 2013-12-22 at 9.42.59 am

I’ve kept up with my training and have been going for 18 months now. This year I added a 3rd weekly session of weights only and, surprisingly, I have loved it. While my running has fallen to the way-side since doing the 8km Mothers Day Classic I still feel I am fitter and stronger than I have ever been.

2013 may have been far quieter than many other years in recent memory have been, but it still had some pretty cool highs and very few lows. I can’t even think of one “low” right now, so I won’t bother trying!

I don’t know what 2014 is going to bring, but I do know The Mechanic and Mr 5 will be going to Sydney to see some Major League Baseball. I know The Mechanic and I will be taking a few days alone to visit friends in Auckland. I know that I will be facing my fear of flying, again, after successfully avoiding plans for the entire year this year. I know that we are hoping a trip to visit family in  the US will be on the cards. And who knows what other surprises we may face. That is the joy of life, isn’t it? Never knowing what is around the corner.

Thank you for reading and commenting this year. I’ve really enjoyed being a part of Team IBOT on Tuesdays at Essentially Jess, and hope to blog a lot more in 2014.

I hope that 2013 has seen your dreams come true and that 2014 is just as kind. Most of all I hope you and your loved ones are happy, safe and healthy and have a wonderful New  Year.

One thought on “2013: The Year That Was

  1. Sounds like a great year, good job you remembered the Mechanics ‘small’ acheivement otherwise I don’t think he’d have been too happy! 😉
    Have a great Christmas and here’s to the year ahead being filled with only good things for you and your family. Xxx

Leave a Reply

