Being A Yes Person

I think there are two kinds of people in the world, with an elusive third possibility that I’m not sure anyone ever completely does to perfection.

There are yes people, and there are no people. The third possibility is that the perfect-balance-of-yes-and-no person exists, but I have yet to meet them, or be one!

I fall into the “yes” category. Ask me to do something for you or invite me somewhere, and I will say yes. The only time I will say no is if I genuinely have other plans already. It is in my nature to help others out where I can, and while I don’t intentionally do it thinking “they’ll owe me one” I do hope that if one day I need a favour, the gesture will be returned.

{source}

Then there are people out there who can’t see past the end of their own noses and so when they are asked a favour, they say no. The funny (strange not ha ha) thing is that these people sometimes require favours themselves. They ask of other people while they’re not willing to give of themselves. These are the kinds of people I don’t understand.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this, because I asked something of someone at work and didn’t get the response I expected. I feel like when you work in a small work environment, you all do what you can to help each other out. As long as no one is abusing that system, it typically works well. My boss is typically great for this, she helps me when when I need it (and she can) and I help her when she needs it (and I can). It has to be that way in a small work place.

So when someone is unwilling to be flexible or helpful, it makes you think twice the next time they need a favour. Even if you are a “yes” person and will most likely still say yes.

Are you a yes or a no person? Or are you that elusive third option? 

Joining Grace for Flog Yo Blog Friday!


24 thoughts on “Being A Yes Person

  1. I definitely agree – it’s amazing how the simplest, most unassuming requests that might really help can just be declined without any discussion and for no reason at all. Some people are really hard to fathom. I hope you meet many more yes people than no people!

  2. Aroha, I think I am one of those elusive yes and no people. I will always, without question, say yes to someone in need or someone who needs a favour. If I’m asked to go out though, I’ve turned into a bit of a no person. I think about who will look after the kids, how tired I am, how awful my hair is and the fact I have no clothes. I am finding though that I am saying a little more yes than no these days now the kids are a little older.

  3. I’m a YES person for sure, and I totally get where you are coming from – it surprises me that the people who never invite you over are the people who come over to your house without bringing anything. I become a No person to these people after a while.

  4. I’m a yes person too and I really wish I could find that balance and sometimes saying yes to everything gets into a few tricky situations! I just can’t help myself though!! xxx

    • I can’t either. I think I genuinely do want to do everything I say yes to, but then I find we’re running from one thing to the next to the next and before we know it we’re exhausted. We’re having a lazy day at home today, feels great!

  5. It’s hard to be a yes person and say no though, even if you want to. I’m a yes person, I don’t know many no people actually – perhaps I unconsciously avoid them? Keep being a yes person, it’s more fun, and I think somehow the law of the universe always works in our favour 🙂

  6. I’m a yes person too, I did a test at work back in the Uk and it is called being a ‘people pleaser’, I would always say yes even to the detriment of my own work sometimes. I’m working on it!

  7. I am a bit of both, but depends on the situation. I have learned over the years though, if someone asks me to go somewhere I really don’t want to rather than make excuses or pull out at the last minute, I say “No” upfront. It can be a little confronting at times, but ultimately it saves a lot of lies, and disappointments.

  8. I’m also a yes person, often I get myself in trouble and double booking things. I really do need to learn to say no more often though, especially during this time of the year.

    • Good point – how easy is it to say yes to way too many things at this time of year? We have Christmas parties coming out the wahzoo but if we had none, I’d be sad, so I’m overcompensating by saying yes to them all! ha!

  9. I’m probably a natural no person that usually is a begrudging yes person out of guilt/not wanting to be a jerk or rock the boat…not proud of it but that’s how it is. Just find the discord too stressful & like to please

    • It’s finding that right balance I think. And knowing when to say yes and when to say no. I am always worried if I say no to things I’ll never be asked again or they’ll say no in return, if that makes sense.

  10. I’m the elusive third option, but I haven’t always been that way. My problem was that I was always saying yes to everything and getting myself very overwhelmed and I had to learn to start saying no and not over committing myself. I will definitely say yes when it comes to helping someone out, but now I really think about my ‘yeses’ and ‘no’s’

  11. Yes yes, totally a yes person, I think, I just hope I do all that I can to help friends! BTW, I’m SOO having Nick when you need help these holidays – him and Maddi will have a ball in pool here and you know me, the more the merrier 🙂

Leave a Reply

