Thankful Thursday

A wise woman once told me, if everyone threw their problems in a great big pile, and we could pick the problems that we wanted, we’d be pretty quick to grab our own problems back!

I passed this on to a friend of mine, who has passed it on to friends of hers. It’s funny the things that stick with us.

While I wouldn’t know how to answer you if you asked if I believed in God, I have always thought that the saying, “God only gives us what we can handle,” was true. “God” or “the universe” or whoever it is, certainly seems to have it out for some people compared to others, and it amazes me to hear the things that get people through really tough times. Often it is “faith.” Sometimes it is the support of family, friends, community. Sometimes it is gratitude – being thankful for the small things, the silver linings. Sometimes it is perspective.

I think about people I have met through blogging and online mothers groups, and the absolute SHIT – plain and simple – that they have gone through, and continue to go through, and I think, “Wow. These people are strong. ” They are strong, courageous, inspiring. And I thank God that their problems are not mine.

This week I am thankful for a lot of small positive things. As a friend spends night after night in hospital with her daughter, I am thankful my son is healthy. As another friend fights an uphill battle with cancer, and the likelihood of not seeing her sons grow up, I am thankful for my own health. As a friend uses Dyslexia Awareness WEek to educate us on the struggles her eldest son faces every day at school, I am thankful my son is doing well at school. As I look at pictures, and think about what my life used to be like when I was overweight and too lazy to do anything about it, I am thankful for having the physical ability to get out in the park and train 3 times a week with awesome girls, even though it hurts like a you-know-what. At a time when I was seriously starting to question the future of my blogging, I am thankful to Lisa and the bloggers who took the time to leave beautiful words on her post featuring “moi” on Tuesday. You have no idea how much your beautiful comments meant to me.

And how fitting is it that when I did a google image search for gratitude, this picture came up and the image source was Deb at Home Life Simplified. No other blogger I know exemplifies gratitude its benefits like Deb.

{ source }

What are you thankful for this week? Why not share with us at Francesca Writes Here

Francesca Writes Here
5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. You are so right – we only have to look at those around us who are struggling more than we are to reaslie just how lucky we are and how thankful we should be for that.
    What a great quote from Deb – she certainly does epitomise gratitude.
    Have the best day and take care !
    Me
    xox

  2. That is so true what you said in your first paragraph… So often we think that our problems are literally the end of the world and, when we stop and think even just a little bit, we realize that some people have it very difficult and are facing some serious issues every day…
    I, too, believe that God only gives us what we can handle, but, sometimes this can be very hard to understand…

  3. So glad you received all those lovely comments (so true and deserved) as I cannot imagine you not blogging lovely – thanks for your words here too. – deb xx

Leave a Reply

