Thankful Thursday

A while ago, I was giving thanks every day. Every. Single. Day. It was hard at the start, to always see a silver lining, or to give thanks for something different every day. I often felt like I was saying “I’m thankful for my husband, son, and family” and it started to feel like the default cop-out for when I couldn’t come up with anything else. But I soon came to realise that even if I struggled to be thankful for anything else on those days, being thankful for my family was enough. It was enough to lift my spirits, to make me realise just how great my life was. It was enough to keep me seeing that sometimes-elusive silver lining. It was enough to stop me from getting down.

Life is FULL of bad news. It sometimes happens to us, sometimes to those close to us. Most times it happens to people we wouldn’t know from Adam, walking down the street. It is often hard to read the news, and see the bad that is out there. What if it did happen to us?! It is no way to live. I know, because I have lived a large chunk of the last 6 years thinking like that. 

My gratitude stopped. I tried to re-ignite it, but it waned even quicker the second time around. It’s time to fix that. Again.

This morning I wanted to get out of the house. Nick would be happy to stay home and play wii ALL DAY if I let him. And there are days I feel like letting him. We have Dreamworld passes, but taking him on my own is something that drives my anxiety levels sky high. I texted a friend to see if she wanted to meet us there with her kids, and she said yes. That made the trip slightly less daunting, but I was still going to have to put my big girl panties on and just do it.

Then in stepped Emily, she was taking her brood to the spit. This killed three birds with one stone. I got Nick out of the house, I didn’t have to go to White Water World, AND I got to spend a few hours with two of my favourite mums, Em and Nessy.

All of this to say, I am so thankful for friends. Friends make life so much easier. They make the most ordinary of activities fun.

I am so thankful for the weather. It is so hot – too hot for spring, but this morning by the water, the sky was blue, the water cool, the breeze gentle. It was absolute heaven.

I am thankful for being employed in a permanent job that lets me take a week off work without stressing about how we will pay bills this week.

I am thankful for gratitude. For being able to pick up where I left off. And for silver linings. They are everywhere, if you know where to look.

What are you thankful for? Do you do a grateful linkup? Point me in the right direction! 

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Wasn’t it a fun day? I am thankful that we can all meet up mid-week in one of the most beautiful places in Australia! I am also grateful of being reminded to be grateful! Hubby, kids, health, being able to work from home – the list goes on – I think it’s usually Francesca Writers Here for Thankful Thurs 🙂 xxx

  2. And then I started talking about the news arrrggg sorry! I have a lot of trouble thinking about the bad stuff too so thank you for the reminder in getting my gratitude journal out again. And thanks for the fun day girls x

  3. Sounds like it was a fantastic day ! What about a Gratitude Group on FB (which is probably not the right forum for me because I don’t get on there as often as I would like !!!) – and everyone can post something once a day so that we all get into the habit of looking around us and being grateful for what we do have in our lives ? Just a thought but it may work.
    Have a great weekend !
    Me

Leave a Reply

