I Must Confess : Regrets

I’ve never really talked about this incident, so it’s a bit hard for me to put this into words. A long time ago, in a work environment, I hit someone. I didn’t think it was that hard, and I did to him what he had just done to someone else. He had pointed to another worker’s chest, then when they looked down, slapped them in the face. He did it fairly playfully, but when I did it to him, I hit him quite hard. It was made worse by the fact we’d had a bit of a disagreement earlier in the day in another work setting. To this day I regret doing that, and even though it didn’t turn into a big situation at the time, it could have, and I could have gotten in a lot of trouble. Perhaps I should have.

Years before that, when I was still in college, I treated one of my teammates so disgracefully I’m ashamed every time I think about it. Even 13 years later. I was a bully. There is no other term for it, and I have no excuses. I was just a terrible person. I even tracked this girl down on myspace when that site was all the rage, and sent a message apologizing. Next thing I know, her profile was set to private.

Another time, when I was living with 2 housemates, a mutual friend of ours wanted to move in with us, and I said no. I said it was because of space, but it was because I was jealous of this friend. If I had been a true friend, I’d have said of course. Things changed between all of us after that.

When I look back at regrets in my life, it is not things I have or haven’t bought. It is not things I have or haven’t done. It is how I have treated people. And while those situations all make me cringe, I also think they have made me the person I am today. A person who is maybe a little bit more thoughtful, who considers situations a little bit more before saying things, who puts themselves in others’ shoes before I make judgement or comments.

Some people say they have no regrets, that every decision they’ve ever made, everything they’ve ever done, has led them to where and who they are today. I can see and understand that argument to an extent. Yes, the things I’ve said and done have made me who I am, but I will always regret situations where I was not the best person I could be.

{ source }

Do you have any regrets? Why not confess them today with Kirsty at My Home Truths!?

My Home Truths
9 thoughts on “I Must Confess : Regrets

  1. Wowo -thanks for such an hontest post – it must have been hard to write ! I think that if we look back, we have all behaved in ways that weren’t very nice at some point so don’t feel alone. As you say, you are a better person today because of the things that you did in the past !
    Heaps of love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

  2. As Me said, we all have things we have said and done that make us cringe thinking about them but I think, like you said it’s about how we move on from them. If we continue to engage in the behaviour, then that is when it becomes a problem. However by calling ourselves on it, saying ‘hey that wasn’t ok’ and learning from it I think that makes us a better person in the long run.

  3. Such a lovely honest post! I think we’ve all had moments when we have treated someone in a way we regret. I love the quote you have there “there are no regrets in life, just lessons”. xo

  4. I totally think what we have done in the past shapes who we are – and more to the point, I bet people have treated you poorly and it has made you grow – you know that I’ve had major issues with lots of people in the past few years and I’ve become stronger from it. I was a shit head in my early years at high school, and if and when I see some girls again, I will apologise. Love this post xx

  5. I have known lots of people who are bullies or have displayed aggressive, selfish behaviour but none who are honest and brave enough to admit it and learn from it so I commend your honesty. I’m probably too far in the opposite direction, passive and too ‘nice’, trusting and gullible. I’ve slowly become more cynical and guarded with people. Not sure if that’s good or bad. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

