Dear Nicklas: You’re 5!

Dear Nicklas,

I call you my baby, and you say, “No I’m not a baby, I’m a big boy now!” And I know in my head that you are, but in my heart you’ll always be my baby.

I decided this year that I would go all out for your birthday, because in the previous 4 years I really haven’t gone to too much trouble for your parties. We decided on a batman themed party at the tennis courts. You and 15 other kids had a fantastic time, and Batman himself even showed up, even though one of your friends shouted “He’s not the real Batman! He’s just pretending!” I think you still enjoyed the fact that Batman was there, and it wasn’t until later that night you said, “He wasn’t really batman you know, he was just a person.” My heart broke a little because I thought this might have been the last year I could have gotten away with you actually believing it was batman. In case you’ve always been wondering, it was actually uncle Adrian.

1053071_10151493587718388_718343449_o

1047935_10151493588963388_1892718510_o

You’re half way through your prep year of school, and you are doing so well. It was definitely the right decision to send you to school, even though some of the kids in your class are already turning 6 and you’ve only just turned 5 today*.

When you were born I couldn’t imagine having a toddler. Then when you were a toddler I couldn’t imagine having a little boy. That’s because I couldn’t have dreamed of having a happier, cheekier, more gorgeous, big grown up boy like you are today. You are smart, kind, sweet, and you love to have cuddles and kisses with your mum. You also like to tell the biggest stories, and talk a lot about missing your grandpa, someone you never even got to meet. It makes me wonder if you met him on your way to us.

You are constantly talking about getting a dog. Aunty Kayla has two dogs and you are just waiting for the day we move into a house that has a yard so that we can have one too. I would love for you to have a dog, but I also remember how much work they are and I don’t know if dad and I are ready to take on that responsibility just yet. Looking after you is work enough!

You think poos, farts and waving your naked bum bum around in our faces is funny. It’s how we know you are truly a BOY! You’re really enjoying playing soccer on Saturdays and you’ve also taken some tennis lessons and enjoy that, too. It helps that you like to be active, because it makes up for all the time you spend playing Wii. Lately you and dad have been playing Lego Batman wii and Lego Star Wars wii. Most people like Obi Wan Kenobi or Luke Skywalker. Not you. You like Darth Vader and Boba Fett. You also play a lot of reading eggs on your laptop, which is a great tool for helping kids learn. I think your addiction to it might be contributing to how well you’re doing at school.

1053349_10151506304083388_595383365_o

It’s been hard for me to come to terms with the fact that you are now 5 years old. The time has just gone so quickly. You even said to me that you are “this many” and held up 5 fingers. Then you said, “One day I’ll be THIS many” and held up 10. I am certainly not ready for that to happen! I don’t even try to think about what things will be like when you are 10, or 15 or 20. I’d rather just focus on how awesome you are at this age right now. My big 5 year old. You’ll never know how much we love you, until you have a child of your own. It’s a love only a parent can understand.

1025716_10151506763143388_2134531255_o

Happy Birthday my perfect boy. I love with you all my love heart, as you would say. “I love you with all my love heart, all the way to my back” and you touch your hands together behind your back.

All my love,
Mum

* His birthday was Sunday, but this was scheduled as an IBOT post

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT!

 

9 thoughts on “Dear Nicklas: You’re 5!

  1. I’m so glad he had such a great birthday ! You are right – enjoy every minute of every year because they do grow too quickly and it is too late to look back afterwards and say “I should have” – I have many regrets – don’t make the same mistakes as I did.
    Have the best day !
    Me

  2. That’s exactly what my girl says to me too when I call her baby… “I’m not a baby! I’m a big girl now!” haha. I’ve not heard of reading eggs before. Gonna check that out for her 🙂

    Happy belated birthday Nicky!!

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  3. A truly beautiful post Aroha, and as always I love your photos. Have been meaning to look into the Reading Eggs, better put that on the list. AJ told me he can’t wait to turn 18 the other day, I almost fainted! 18 – I am not even ready for 7 and he is talking cars and niteclubs already!

Leave a Reply

