The Weekly Schedule

There was a time in my life when I couldn’t understand people who said they were “so busy.” NO-ONE is THAT busy, I’d think. Now I’ve reached that point where I am that person. I don’t claim to be busier than others. I don’t think my time is more important/better spent/more insane than anyone else. But I know for me, life is busier than it has ever been. Here’s a quick rundown of my week:

Monday: 5 am wake up call for work, 6:30-2:30. Rush to pick up Nick and a friend’s son from school at 3, hoping to God I’ll get a park within a 2km radius of the school. Take the boys home, feed them afternoon tea. An hour or so to myself while they entertain each other before said friend arrives to pick up her son. Then change into workout gear and head out to training the second hubby walks in the door from work. 5:30-6:30 is training for me, 6:30-7:30 is training for hubby. When I get home I put Nick to bed (who has been shuttled from home to training and home again) and make dinner for 7:45-8:00, when hubby is home from training. Crash into bed and thank God Tuesday is my day off.

Tuesday: Sleep in. Get Nick to school by 8:45. Do whatever it is that needs doing. Sometimes its laundry, sometimes (but rarely) I have nothing to do and can have a coffee and read IBOT posts as part of my #teamIBOT commitment at my leisure. I can do whatever I want until 2:15 when I go to pick up Nick and the same friend from yesterday. Last week I spent all of Tuesday, except 30 minutes when I had a quick lunch with my mum and sister, running around looking for Batman stuff for Nick’s party.

someecards.com - I'm too busy to tell people how busy I am

Wednesday: Drop Nick off at school by 8:45 and rush off to whichever one of the two tennis courts my team is playing at for the day. Play tennis – 4 sets for me, 8 sets total for the day, which usually finishes anywhere between 1 and 2 pm. Rush home, chuck dinner in the slow cooker, shower, dress, pick Nick up at 3 and take him to his tennis lesson at 3:30. Home by 4:15, feed Nick dinner, change for training. Training is from 6-7 for me, 7-8 for Mike. Dinner is at 8:15-8:30, when Mike gets home. Crash in bed and dread the 5 am alarm.

Thursday: 5 am wake up call for work, 6:30-2. Head straight to school, get a good parking spot and wait for Nick to get out at 3. This is the one afternoon we don’t have to rush off anywhere, though we usually end up going somewhere or doing something. Last week we went to the shops to get his hair cut. There’s a pilates class from 6-7 I like to go to when I can. This could become another regular activity, even though adding activities is not what I need to be doing!

Friday: Leisurely wake up, drop Nick at school by 8:45, and I have an hour and a half before I have to leave for work. There’s usually housework involved here, or a quick errand or two. Work is 10:30-6:00, which means by the time I get home, we eat, then it’s time for Nick to get ready for bed. Thankfully hubby cooks dinner Friday nights so that’s one less thing to worry about.

Saturday: Typically the only thing that is consistent on a Saturday is Nick’s soccer from 9:30-10:20. Two weeks we also had a birthday party and I went on a photo shoot with a photographer friend. Last weekend mum had Nick and we went to dinner and to see Guy Sebastian! I also try to do pilates in the morning, from 7-8.

Sunday: Again, usually pretty cruisy, except that I work from 2-6.Β  Two weeks ago I did The Color Run, then we took Nick to another birthday party, then I went to work. Some weekends are like that and are more hectic than others.

So that is what a snapshot of my week looks like. It’s no wonder there’s little time for anything else in there. Why is it when I’m not busy I complain b/c life is boring, but with all this going on, I complain because it’s too hectic? I think life is only as hectic as we want to make it. There is plenty in there I could drop if I really wanted or needed more time. Unfortunately “work” is not one of those!
someecards.com - I like to stay as busy as possible to take my mind off how much I hate the things I do to stay busy.

Are you always finding yourself “busy”?

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT!

35 thoughts on “The Weekly Schedule

    • Yeah, I think I’m a fairly organized person. But I also rely on others to help me, which is something not everyone has the access or ability to do. It’s hard to let go of some things – like not being the one to drop my son at school or pick him up every day, but so far it works. I just always feel like I’m one miss-step away from dropping everything!

  1. Wouldn’t it be lovely if work could be the one thing we can give up, I know why I returned to work but lately I’ve been wishing I had more time at home to just be and less busy time interfering with our family time together. The bills just won’t stop coming though!

  2. With not working at the moment, i still don’t get through the list of things that need doing – perhaps an extra few hours a day would solve the problem. It’s that awful case of the grass is always greener isn’t it! When we have it, we don’t want it when we don’t have it, we complain!

    • Yep! Grass is always greener. I sometimes think it would be nice to have nothing to do, but then I’d just be lazy and gain back all the weight I lost and I don’t really want that!

  3. It’s fascinating to get a glimpse at other people’s lives!
    When I start to feel overwhelmed, I pause and take a breath and re-stock. My husband is a good sounding board for figuring out what needs my time and what doesn’t. Don’t tell him that though, I like to keep him operating under the impression he is hopeless!

    • ha ha! My lips are sealed! I think I’m quickly approaching that “something’s gotta give” stage, and I’m just not sure yet what it’s going to be! There’s nothing (apart from work which is not an option) that I’m willing to sacrifice at the moment.

  4. I find I need to multitask to get everything done. If there is something on TV I want to watch I iron whilst I do it. Have visitors drop in for a coffee – I cook whilst they sit and chat. Need to make a phone call – I fold laundry or put on the washing or even dust and clean. Need to have an appointment like haircut – I have a folder of bill payments to make or correspondence to take care of. Need to wait in a GP’s waiting room with kids – do the same thing cover bills and correspondence. Last week I found myself trying to finish reading a book whilst I vacuumed!!

  5. I have to say I am very proud of all the training you do – I wish I had the motivation to this. Busy doesn’t even begin to describe my life, but I’m happy with my lot – most of the time πŸ™‚ x

    • He was FANTASTIC Grace! Once he finally came on (1hr 10m after the time on the ticket – long story! He had an opening act and then half hour between him and Guy coming on, seemed to take forever!). He’s got so much talent. He actually sounded heaps better in concert than any CD I’ve ever heard him on!

    • I’ve become one of those people who struggle to sit still I think! I blame my mother. I don’t mind being so busy, most of the time. But once in a while I’d like to just not have something to be rushing off to!

    • Yep! It all seems to work for the most part. It’s hard relying on others to help with that routine, but otherwise I wouldn’t be able to do half of what I do and we wouldn’t be able to pay our bills!

  6. I’m the same. I complain when I’m busy and I complain when I’m not πŸ™‚ What are we like, eh?! πŸ™‚

  7. Busy or disorganised? That’s what I’m pondering at the moment – I never seem to get everything done – but I used to be busier and get it all done ( I was possessed like a maniac but it still got done)

Leave a Reply

