Thankful For My Country

This Thursday it is easy to know what I’m thankful for.

I’m thankful for living in a country where our children are safe to go to school. People are safe to go to the movies. Runners are safe to run in marathons.

I’m thankful for a country who not only accepts tighter gun laws, but wants them. Because we have seen what happens without them.

I’m thankful for living in a country where I can ride any bus I want to and I’m not going to be gang raped, beaten and left on the side of the road to die.

I’m thankful for living in a country where clean running water is readily available.

I know our country is not perfect. I know bad things happen here, too. But I think we have a helluva better chance here, than many other countries, of being able to live a safe and healthy life. Today I’m thankful for that.

What are you thankful for?

{img source}

Linking up with Leigh at Six By The Bay for Thankful Thursday


Six By The Bay

9 thoughts on “Thankful For My Country

  1. I’m so thankful for all of the above as well!! So glad we don’t have to have armed guards at our schools and I feel safe walking around my neighbourhood at night. It’s so easy to take it for granted!

  2. Alleluia – we are indeed very lucky here in Australia! We are very blessed. I could not imagine living in a country where each day is lived in fear, venturing outside your front door is a risk and peace is something completely unknown of.

Leave a Reply

