Thankful Thursday: School Holidays!

Up until this year, I’d seen friends positing various things on Facebook about school holidays. Some people were excited for them to be here, some people were dreading it. Some people had no idea what they’d do with the kids for 2 weeks, others were looking forward to family holidays. I have to say, it makes me a bit sad to see parents dreading having time with their children. I suppose if I had more than one, and was dreading the fighting, having to entertain them every day, it might be a bit more daunting. But I love this extra time with my (not so) little guy.

This is our first school holiday experience and I have to say, so far I’m loving it! I’m especially loving not having to be at drop off and pick up at the same time every day, for starters! I love being able to laze around in the mornings if we want to, go to the beach in the afternoons if we wish, or just stay at home simply because we can! I love that all the extra curricular activities are on hold also (with the exception of our personal training, which isn’t so bad). That means no rushing off to swimming or tennis for Nick, or tennis for me. I have to say, I’m pretty certain I’m going to come to love school holidays!

My biggest concern was finding vacation care for Nick. I’m so thankful that I’ve kept in touch with one of his former carers from a previous kindy he attended, and she’s doing private nannying now. She’s holding a vacation care program these holidays so I know who Nick is with, and know that he’ll have a great time and be well looked after. The best part is, with my work schedule and mum’s work flexibility, I only have 4 days I need him in care. All in all, I’d say it’s worked out perfectly, and if all school holidays always work out this well, I’ll be thrilled!

How do you feel about school holidays? Do you love them, or dread them?

Linking up with Leigh at Six By The Bay for Thankful Thursday


Six By The Bay

15 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: School Holidays!

  1. It’s great that you can enjoy them so much – I wish that I had spent more of the holidays with K.
    I hope that you are feeling better now – will be in touch soon !
    Have a great day !
    Me

  2. I’m a lover of school holidays. I love the change of routine (and lack of routine!!). I love being able to wake up everyday and decide what we will do, or decide to just do nothing – bliss!
    I feel really sorry for people who dread school holidays, and especially sad for their children.
    Thanks for your comment on my blog yesterday πŸ™‚
    x Sannah

  3. My kids are all at University now but when they were little I used to love school holidays. It was a break from all the dropping off and picking up and after school activities and packing lunches etc. Usually by the end of the Xmas holidays though – I was quite glad to drop them back on Day 1 of the new year. That is a Looooong holiday!

  4. I love having my boys home. There are times that I want absolute peace but they chill out and we do enjoy each others company. I think the key is to have a sense of humour. You are so lucky to have trusted care. Ill have to look into it next holidays and I know the boys are dreading it! Oh well, gotta do what you gotta do! Much love xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

