Manic Monday

I think I’ll start my own linky party on Mondays and call it Manic Monday, because that’s what I feel like it is! I’ve recently started linking up with Kirsty at My Home Truths and Alicia at One Mother Hen on Mondays, and now I’m going to be linking up with Deb at Home Life Simplified as well! Do you think that’s too much? Should I share the love and rotate on a weekly basis? Worth considering, maybe!?

In any case, Deb’s first week of her List Mania is up this week and it is is all me, currently. In the interest of making this a confession for Kirsty’s I Must Confess, I must first confess I’ve stuck Nick in front of the TV so I can get this blog post out! I’m sure I’m not the first, nor will I be the last, blogging mother to use the TV as a distraction while she bangs out a post!

Without further ado, here we go! Currently I am…

Reading: ummmmm. Blogs? Do they count? The last book I started was Richard Branson’s Losing My Virginity but I got about 100 pages or so in and never picked it back up. Maybe I should re-start that one. It was a good book, I just got too involved in other things (like blogs!).

Listening To:  a lot of The Fray, The Script and Pink. I need to be listening to Keith Urban, as we are going to his concert Saturday night!

Laughing At: the fact that I left this one til last, because I can’t think of one thing that’s making me laugh at the moment. And that just makes me sad, which does nothing for coming up with something to laugh about!

Swooning Over: Roger Federer. His tennis is phenomenal. He always says the nicest things, the right things. He loves his wife and twin daughters. He’s so down-to-earth. Yep, swooning over here! 

Planning:  to get a second job, maybe doing night fill or a little bit of photography. Maybe both – a second and a third job!

Eating Lots Of: bad foods that I should know better than to eat. It’s seriously time to cut out the junk! All my hard workouts are purely for neutralising the junk food right now.

Feeling:  emotional about my son starting “big school.” I am not sure how we got here so quickly, and I am not ready for it at all!

Discovering: that I really have no idea what I’m doing with this “blogging” thing. 

Looking at: how I can get a photography business off the ground, even if it’s just as a side hobby and brings in a little extra each week.

Wearing: my workout clothes, ready for yet another training session tonight. 6 in 2 weeks will be a record for me, and it amazes me how quickly my body has adapted to working out again. Turns out 4 weeks off isn’t the end of the world (though I won’t be doing that again in a hurry!).

Cooking:  vegetables! My current favourite is steaming a bunch of veggies, then baking them in white sauce. SO YUM!

Wondering: if we will ever, EVER “get ahead”. I feel like a hamster on a wheel.

Trying Out: this linking up to 3 blogs on a Monday thing! It’s not the linking up that worries me, it’s the finding time to visit other linkers on all three blogs and comment! Which is what linkups are for!

Are you linking up on Mondays? If so, where? 

Linking up for

Photobucket

22 thoughts on “Manic Monday

  1. I haven’t read anything for such a long time either, except blogs. I get to flick through gardening mags and the local paper when I go to Mums! Enjoy your night out seeing Kevin and I hope you have lots to laugh about this week 🙂 I really enjoyed reading your List.

  2. I don’t do a lot of linking up for precisely the reason you say, I really would like to do it more but I struggle for time to get round all the blogs in the linkys – I do try and I really enjoy reading them but it is hard, thats why I don’t link up all the time myself, as I think it is rude to link and run. If I know that I wont have time to read linked blogs on a particular day I don’t link up. I do feel a bit bad about not linking up regularly though, as I like the community spirit. – Not really sure what’s the best way really.

    • It is really easy to stay in “off” mode once you are there. I really threw myself back in full force so that I’d get back to where I was and get into the habit of going again, I think that’s the hardest part sometimes!

  3. Good on you for trying the multi-linkup. It can be full-on but it’s lots of fun and you get to meet lots of new bloggers in the process. I’m envying you your workouts right now – I’m itching to get back into more exercise! Watching the tennis (and yes, the amazing Fed Express) is making me want to get back on the court again. Thanks so much for linking up again Aroha!

    • I haven’t got around to comments yet – that’s today’s mission! I do love linking up and will try to make sure they are all incorporated one way or another! I wish I had a laptop instead of an iMac so I could do it in front of the tennis! 😉

  4. Woweeee manic monday indeed my friend!!! Two jobs sounds like a lot – i hope everything is ok. You take awesome photos, so i don’t think you would have any problems there! xx

    • thanks L. Everything is ok, just not getting anywhere! We are terrible with money (well, terrible with credit cards! and we don’t seem to learn our lesson!). I just need to put myself out there, and that makes me nervous!

  5. Great list, and I can totally relate – but as for your blog, you’ve been doing it for so long it speaks for itself, a place to document your life, what you’re doing, and most importantly a place to vent, be honest and write about what you are passionate about, just like me. You are great at is, and just for the record I’m so coming over one day when we have no kids and you are going to teach me a thing or two!!! School is super scary, totally adore how much Federer loves his family, been too much bad food too, sucks you haven’t laughed and I promise I’ll try to make you on Thurs 🙂

  6. Here’s to make you laugh (joke provided by my 9yo at bedtime tonight) What do you call a dinosaur crossed with a boy? Tyranasaurus Rex (rex is the name of the boy – ba dum dum)

    Re the photography – my oldest friend is not a full time photographer – (besides going on a major course in another state) when she was starting out she offered to assist other photographers – they got the extra hands on and she learned by watching and helping and then slowly it turned into paid work and now she has people tagging along with her and her own studio. it is like interning and a rapid learning path (something to consider)

    • awww love those 9 year old jokes! That is a good one. Tell her this one tonight – what did the farmer say to the cow who was sitting on the roof? get off the roof you silly cow! I have always found this joke hilarious until someone said “mooooooove?” and that is a pretty good answer, too! mine makes no sense though, which is what makes me laugh. I have a friend who is a photographer who has said I can go shooting with her and/or help her at some of her shoots, so I’m going to try and do some of that. Thanks Deb! x

  7. Good luck with making photography a source of income. It would be great to have an interest become your work. I am very impressed by your workout levels. I really need to get back on track with that!

  8. Thanks for sharing. I am going to try to link into this – will have to check if the linky closes on Monday in which case I have missed out and it will have to be next week !!!
    I am loving RF too – such a gentleman !!!
    So glad you found out that it wouldn’t take you long to get back into the swing of PT sessions – it’s all good !
    Have a great week !
    Me

  9. I commented yesterday but for some reason it hasn’t shown up on here, never mind. Well done for managing to keep up with it all, you are better than me. I would really like to link up all the time but I struggle to keep up with reading all the other blogs that have linked as well and I really want to. I don’t think it is right to link up and not read the others so if I know I can’t read a good few of them as well I would rather not link up, but then I do enjoy linking up and like the sense of community – so a bit of a quandry really!
    Really well done on getting back into your training so quickly 6 sessions in 2 weeks is amazing, I am tired just thinking about it. You look like you have got a good idea of blogging to me! 🙂

    • it IS hard to link up all the time. I think the easiest way is to just pick one or two linkys for the week, link up, and then read a handful of every week. No one expects you to read ALL that have linked up. Just find a few that you like and comment, and always comment on the linky host. That’s pretty much what I do. If it’s a smaller linkup I try to comment on all but it’s not always possible. And *I* am exhausted after 5 sessions, 6th session tonight and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t really looking forward to a few days off!

Leave a Reply

