Ringing In The New Year

It’s the same story every year since we all grew up and had kids. We get to December, there are emails sent around about what everyone is doing for New Year’s Eve and the general consensus is that everyone will be having a quiet night at home and will see the new year in, fast and sound asleep. In fact, up until about 6:45 pm on NYE, we were planning to stay home and do just that. In the end, we decided to jump in the car and head down to Broadbeach. This meant parking at Pacific Fair, about a half hour hike away with a 4 year old in tow. Thankfully The Mechanic dropped us off and then came to meet us. We ended up having front row seats for the 8pm Broadbeach Fireworks. They lasted about 10 minutes and weren’t that spectacular. We thought 50 minutes was too long to wait for the Surfers Fireworks, but I wanted to walk to the north end of Broadbeach to get a photo of the Surfers skyline at night. By the time we did that, and I took some photos, there was only 10 minutes left to wait for the 9pm Surfers show. After all the effort we’d gone to to actually get there, we figured we’d stay. I was glad we did, it was a unique view to watch from where we were.

20130103-091250.jpg
View of Surfers from Broadbeach
Part of the 8pm Broadbeach Show | View of the Surfers fireworks

In the end I was glad we went out, but wished we had made plans with others, as it turned out several friends had also made their way to Broadbeach! Next year we will try to plan better in advance. Maybe we’ll save all year and rent a unit across from the beach and invite people there. It always seems like such a hassle to plan something, but when the time rolls around, I find myself wishing we had plans.

I’d seen on the Brisbane International website that they were having a kids day on New Year’s Day with face painting, a jumping castle, rock climbing and other activities for kids. Grounds passes were fairly cheap, the train ride was free, so we thought it would be a great day out. And it was a huge hit with Nicklas. He loves tennis, and would have stayed on the mini-courts all day if we’d let him. He had no interest in watching “the big players”, just playing himself. Maybe one day I’ll be watching him on Pat Rafter arena? That would be a trip!
20130103-085702.jpg

Riding the train home | Colouring competition | playing mini tennis
More mini tennis |Azarenka comes out to play | Another kids activity
Face painting | Totally worth the 45 min wait | Oh look, more mini tennis

20130103-090014.jpg

And I couldn’t resist including another photo of my baby niece. Nick just thinks she’s divine, and I can’t say I blame him. I love this pic of them, checking each other out. He was so gentle with her and would seriously make the best big brother ever. I can’t stop looking at this photo and wondering if I’ll ever get to take one of him with a little brother or sister. We are obviously both very smitten with her and I’m so thankful she’s joined our family. I can’t wait for my nephew to make his arrival in just a couple of months! It’s so nice to have babies in the family.

So that’s how we rang in the new year! What did you do?

29 thoughts on “Ringing In The New Year

  1. Maybe this NYE we can join you. The fireworks at Paradise Point were absolutely pathetic especially when compared to other years.
    I must also get more organised – should have got tickets for the tennis as I would love to go to a game up there.
    It’s a beautiful photo – you should be so proud of how gentle he is.
    Wishing you the best year ahead – may all your wishes come true !
    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

    • I think they must have all skimped on the early fireworks and saved the big show for the midnight ones. I just can’t stay up til midnight, nor can I afford a NYE babysitter (unless I ask Nanna!). Oh well. Will make earlier plans this year for sure! Maybe we’ll have moved into a house by then and you will be invited to our party! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sometimes they do! This didn’t turn out too badly. I think you’re always glad you went out when it’s last minute. Sometimes when it’s planned in advance it turns out to be a fizzer!

    • The kids activities were pretty cool, but to be honest it was more standing around waiting your turn than actually doing the activities! That was the only downside. Oh well, worked out for them – lots of people showed up.

  2. I love that photo of your niece with your son. It is just beautiful!
    We had fairly last minute plans too. We went out for dinner with my sister and her family, and then into the early family fireworks in Melbourne. It was over really quickly which I thought was unfortunate, and my boys were really disappointed when it finished. It just didn’t last long enough.
    We then went home, put the boys to bed, and saw in the New Year on the couch! Really exciting! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    xx

  3. Love the view you had of the Surfer’s fireworks- It’s not easy capturing them in photos though ๐Ÿ™‚ The Brisbane International kids day looks fun- hope they run it again next year, as I think my boys would love it. My husband is going to a game tonight. Your niece is adorable as is her big cousin ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was pretty windy, so that made it harder to take photos. I love photographing fireworks. Would love to go shoot the Sydney ones! I’m jealous of your husband! Would love to be going tonight!

  4. The pictures of the fireworks look amazing Aroha – you were lucky to get to see two sets in the one night! I’ve been watching the Brisbane International on TV and would love to get there one day. It’s great that they devoted a day to the kids and that your son loved the experience. I need to bite the bullet and take my kids to the tennis too, maybe they would surprise me and love it too!

    • I love this time of year with all the tennis that is on leading up to the Open! Still my dream to get down there and watch a match on Rod Laver! One day…preferably before RF retires! Def take your kids – they may just love it!

  5. I love fireworks. Didn’t get to see any this year, I didn’t make it to midnight.
    Your new years day looks like it was fun.
    I love watching my 22 month old twins with their baby cousin. They love her and are surprisingly gentle. They will make a great bog brother and sister when the time comes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Happy new year, Aroha! Sounds like you had a lovely start to the new year!
    And your little niece is divine! Love that pic of her with your little man.
    I have a baby photo of my older cousin holding me. I love it. Cousins are just the best. xxx

    • Happy New Year Grace! She is scrumptious, I can’t get enough of her! I am at least 10 years older than my cousins, yet no pics of me holding them exist. Still not sure where I got my photography obsession from – neither of my parents!

  7. I love fireworks and always get disappointed when they’re over! Your young fellow looks besotted with his cousin – too gorgeous! Happy New Year to you – here’s to a wonderful 2013!

  8. Such lovely photos and wow what a busy week when you look at it hey?! Yes an apartment in Broadbeach would be AWESOME, kids could go to bed after 9pm fireworks and the party could continue, if we were all still able to stay awake!

  9. The Surfers (paradise??) fireworks look great. It is so cool that you are so near there that you can just hop on the train if you fancy it. We were never good NYE planners either, despite living in UK I don’t think we ever spent a single NYE in the UK for the past 6 years. I hate UK New years, everything has to be booked 4 years in advance, its ridiculously expensive and freezing.! We spent one year on the beach in Rio De Janeiro, and another in Bolivia, they were memorable ones. This year very quiet watching the pathetic Noosa fireworks, but I had a great time. Looks like you did too. Happy New Year if I haven’t said it already. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think Sydney would probably be the place to be. But not sure about taking Bear there? Yes, was Surfers Paradise (shortened to Surfers) but no trains on the Gold Coast, sadly! It’s all driving up here, or bus if you’re desperate or bogan ๐Ÿ˜‰ We are only a 5 minute drive from the beach though, we are very spoiled! And seriously?! 4 years in advance!? Insane!!

Leave a Reply

