Starting Off On The Right Foot

I’ve been on a little bit of a blog hiatus. I needed to take some time off over Christmas to give my brain a rest and to think about where my blog is going (or not going) heading in to the new year. I wanted to make sure I was going in to 2013 on a positive note, and the last couple of weeks have been overwhelming, confusing and a little bit flat. I thought a break would do me good, and I think it has.

This time last year I printed out Susannah Conway‘s “Unravelling 2012” workbook and sat down with a glass of wine. I thought about the previous year, I set about making goals, I thought things would happen. By things, I mean babies. I thought for sure we’d get our shit sorted out and finally have baby #2 this year. My word for the year was “Hope”, and in my head I thought we’d have a baby girl and call her Hope. Just like in the movies. In 2012 things did happen, just not the things I thought. But I guess that is what life is about, isn’t it? No matter how much we plan, life throws us curve balls and we just have to go along with it and adjust along the way.

It’s now time to sit down and think about the year ahead. I’ve got Susannah’s “Unravelling 2013” and I’ve given some thought also, to Deb‘s 52 Week Challenge that I started off last year, with good intentions of completing, but for one reason or another, didn’t. I did learn some valuable lessons through the weeks I did complete though, which is why the first thing I’m doing when thinking about next year is sorting my life into categories. In no particular order, the categories are: Home/Family, Health & Fitness, Finances, Work, Blog. There’s plenty of room for improvement across the board, and the parts of my life I really want to focus on are family, fitness and work. But every time I sit down to “unravel” or to think about what I want out of this coming year, I decide it all belongs in the “too hard” basket. I’m scared of putting what I really want out there, and I’m not sure if it’s for fear of not getting it, or fear that I will. Where’s my shrink when I need her?

So I did what any blogger would do, I tossed all that aside and thought about my blog instead. Heading into twenty-thirteen I thought the best way to start off a new year was with a new look and a revised “About Me” section. It was a step in the right direction. I’m also excited to be starting the year off as a new member of Team IBOT over at Essentially Jess.  Already exciting things are happening for 2013 and it’s only the first day! I Blog On Tuesdays is a wonderful linky hosted by Jess. It’s a great way to discover other bloggers, and for them to discover you. It really is about community – if you actively participate! My biggest comment days – giving and receiving – are always on Tuesdays. If you don’t already, I definitely recommend linking up and getting involved with the lovely bloggers already taking part.

It wasn’t really enough to just create a new look and About Me page though. I really had to think about what I from my blogging. It started out at Diaryland as somewhere to keep some thoughts, feelings, happenings. It then moved to Live Journal, then to Blogger, before settling here at WordPress back in 2007! But it’s never been about writing for others, not until recently. It’s hard not to get caught up in stats and page views and comments, we all do it. And when my regular stats jumped from the 20 mark to the 80-100 mark (I know it’s not huge, but it’s big for me!), I was a bit shocked and if I’m honest a bit scared! Now that people were reading, I had to make sure I was writing better stuff, and more often! I think I put too much pressure on myself to perform. So for now, I’ll be going back to the Blogging Basics. I’ll be writing for me, about things that I’m passionate about, be it my son, politics, or just things that really really piss me off. But I do love the community that I find myself a part of, and that’s something I hope will continue to grow this year.

Thank you to those who have read, commented, and been a part of this blog one way or another over the last 12 months and more. It’s taken a slight turn I never expected, but that excites me. I hope this year is full of joy, love and laughter and sees your wishes fulfilled and your dreams pursued.

 

happy new year

Linking up of course with Jess for the first #IBOT of 2013! Won’t you link up too?

35 thoughts on “Starting Off On The Right Foot

  1. Hey my friend – love the new look of your blog !!!!! Great to hear that you are part of the #IBOT team – you are right – it is about participating.
    Wishing you a wonderful 2013 where all your dreams come true !
    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

  2. Happy new Year mate! Must say I love the new look. I know what you mean about going back to blogging basics. Back in 2010 I started to get so caught up in the stats and the expectations etc that blogging stopped being fun. Since being inspired by my good friend starting her blog back in July I found my blogging mojo again and this time I am keeping it simple and true to the things that A Study in Contradictions first started out as, photos and whatever it was that popped up into my head at the time! And I have been loving blogging more than ever as a result!

  3. Love the new look. It’s funny, I’ve never looked at blogging as being about the stats or even the words you write, more about the community you build and the people you relate to. I was an early LJ adopter too (in 2001, back when you needed invites) and have moved through a few blogs since then – even the one I get sent lots of stuff for I try not to think too much about writing and the people I’m writing for – once you do that you lose you. Don’t blog for them, blog for you – it seems so simple but can be so hard. I wish you luck with it this year.

  4. Happy New Year Aroha and congrats on a TeamIBOT spot. Sometimes the fear of actually succeeding stops me, I am still unsure of exactly why because succeeding is the point of trying, is it not? x

    • Thanks Stacey-Lee. You are right – it IS the point of trying. What I really want to do is out of my comfort zone and would require really putting myself out there, learning and hard work. Honestly just don’t know if I can be bothered! Isn’t that terrible?!

  5. loving the new look – thank you for including the link to Susannahs stuff also, When i have finished these blasted assessments it looks like something very useful i’d love to get stuck into. Thankyou for being such a great friend this year, here is to a fantastic 2013 xx

    • Thanks L! Def recommend Susannah’s stuff, but gee it is hard. Make sure you have no distractions and really put your thinking cap on! And thank you for being there for me too last year! Looking forward to seeing what 2013 brings us both. x

  6. Great new fresh look. There isn’t a blogger in the world who hasnt questioned the direction of their blog before (I don’t imagine there is anyway!) sometimes the best thing is to write a new about me page or take a break! I have done both of them myself when motivation is lagging! Look forward to reading more from you in 2013 x

  7. I love this post and I’m sure you’ve shared sentiments to which a lot of bloggers can relate. Self analysis and blog analysis seem to go hand in hand, especially when there are tricky life challenges about. Looking forward to reading more from you in the new year 🙂

  8. I had a similar wish to you at the start of 2012 and unfortunately it wasn’t to be either. I, too am looking st stripping things back to basics. Not just my blog, but the way I live my life. Have an amazing 2013 and I hope all your dreams come true xxxxxx

    • I’m really sorry your wishes weren’t fulfilled either. It is heartbreaking and devastating on a level that only those who have also gone through it can understand. Everything crossed 2013 sees your dreams come true.

  9. I’m excited to read you right exactly what you want to. I have loved your political posts, and your heartfelt baby wanting ones. I’m still hoping for number two for you. Your little man is so cute, you definitely need to be breeding more 😉

Leave a Reply

