2012 : The Year That Was

Back at the end of 2007 I decided to write a review of the year. In 2008 I figured I might as well do it again. It was interesting to go back and read about things that had happened, the highlights, lowlights and everything in between. In 2009, 2010 and 2011 I continued with tradition. Now, it’s time to look back on 2012 and see what exciting things happened this year.

So much has happened in the last 5 years. When you talk about your “long term goals” and your 5 and/or 10 year plan, not many people would include all of the following:

  • Go to Europe
  • Move to the other side of the world
  • Have a child
  • Lose a grandparent
  • Lose a parent
  • Lose an uncle
  • Struggle with fertility

To say I wouldn’t change any of it is a lie. There’s plenty about it I’d change – I’d bring dad back for starters, and I’d get rid of this fertility problem. But we all know that’s not possible, and everything that has happened has shaped who I am and where I am right this very moment (still in PJs, determined to do nothing today until I have to go to work!).

Looking through my blog, the recurring themes for 2012 are gratitude, health and fitness. This year I lost 12 kgs, 45 cms and 2 dress sizes. In doing that I’ve gained happiness, confidence, fitness and surely health. I’ve learned that you really can do anything you put your mind to, anyone can lose weight and get fit, excuses just hold you back, and if you do anything hard enough and long enough, it WILL pay off!

b4after

Before & After

I’ve looked for the positive and given thanks for everything – even my challenges, for while they may give me grief, they are not insurmountable. They are not life-threatening or ending. I can, and will, face them with everything I have.

This year I’ve learned that support sometimes comes from the most unlikely places, that friendships can survive most anything, if you want them to, but sometimes the only people you can truly count on are the ones under your own roof (or who grew up under the same roof). I’ve learned that science and the universe can sometimes work hand in hand to make things happen (or not happen). I’ve learned that when you’re a parent, time flies faster than light and some decisions feel harder than climbing Mt. Everest. I still can’t believe my “baby” graduated from kindy and is headed to “big school” at the end of January. He’s not a baby any more (ok, so he hasn’t been for a while) but now he is really super grown up, and he’s my little mate, not my little baby.

_MG_7630

I’ve done a lot of blogging and tried to be an active participant in the Australian blogging community, even just a small part of it. There are so many inspiring, talented, friendly, funny women (and men) blogging these days and it can be hard to find where you fit in, but I know my journey this year has been supported by many bloggers and may not have been so successful without them.

This year we travelled. To Melbourne, New Zealand, Fingal Head.  We saw things we hadn’t seen before, we stood in awe of nature, we relaxed. I photographed.

travel

Friends and family fell pregnant. Everyone seemed to fall pregnant. Meanwhile we tried to fight/cure/conquer our fertility issues. All the while questioning why we were struggling. The universe vs science battle raged in my mind. Maybe the universe was protecting us from something, or maybe there was some slight scientific/biological error that needed correcting. It’s something we’ve yet to figure out. I hope 2013 sees an end to this battle, with either a pregnancy, or contentedness that we did all we could and it wasn’t meant to be.

And then the year ended with a bang! Well, not a bang, more a blessing. A beautiful baby daughter for my sister and brother-in-law to love. And for her aunty to love too, of course! She was late arriving (11 days), took her time getting here (36 hours), but she is perfect and already forgiven.  I can’t think of a better way to end one year and start another. Can you?

photo (1)

What were the highlights of your 2012?

Do you write a yearly review? If you do, why not link up with Grace at With Some Grace for Flog Yo’ Blog Friday?

40 thoughts on “2012 : The Year That Was

  1. Well done on your amazing efforts this year – you looked fab before but your hard work has paid off and you’re even foxier!

    Have enjoyed getting to know you this year 🙂

    Fertility struggles are not fun. Been there too x

  2. an absolutely gorgeous review!
    congratulations on the incredible and amazing weight loss – you look fantastic and your words ooze positivity and encouragement about such a difficult issue
    congratulations on becoming an aunty – she is just adorable
    and many, many prayers for your own wish to become a parent
    Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones
    xx

  3. You really have achieved so much this year – and I’m lucky to be a part of it. And I will be here in 2013 to stand alongside you and your trials, tribulations, happiness and laughter. What a great year in review. xx

  4. So much stuff has happened and is still happening!
    Can’t wait to continue “hanging out” with you in 2013 – and my it bring you everything you wish for xx

  5. I am so sorry to hear about your dad and your fertility problems. It sounds really tough. You look amazing though and your writing is always beautiful. I hope next year brings what you yearn for. X

    • Thanks Zanni. Dad & the fertility issues have certainly been trying and challenging. But I would gladly take those challenges over lots of other issues any day. Whatever next year brings, I am ready!

    • Thanks Rachel! I’m not sure why I even did it the first year, but I’m glad it’s something I’ve carried on with! It’s good to look at where we’ve come from/what we’ve accomplished and done. For me it’s easy to forget without writing it down!

  6. Well done you, for looking after yourself – body, mind and soul – during a year which has had many heartbreaks. It’s hard to do that but so good for you. And I’m so glad for you that the year has ended with a beautiful new baby in the family. When there’s death in a year, thank god for new life as well. Happy holidays and all best wishes for 2013.

  7. What a fabulous year! You’ve achieved so much and your weightloss is so inspiring!

    I hope you have a fabulous Christmas and New Year and get to enjoy the last weeks of baby-dom before your little one heads off to school (how exciting and scary at the same time!). Congratulations again to your sister, such a cutie!

    Looking forward to getting to know you even better next year!

  8. Wow I never really noticed the change until you put the photos side by side. Well done you for looking after your body.. you are just glowing with health! Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I hope 2013 will bring you some peace in the fertility battles too xox

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  9. Wow! You are now the even sexier mama! You must be so, so proud. Good on you!
    I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you this year, Aroha.
    Wishing you much love and happiness for 2013 xxx

  10. Wow! You look fantastic! Congratulations on your weight loss. I’ve gone through the same journey myself over the last couple of years, so I know how hard it is.
    I would give anything to bring my Dad back too. We lost him many years ago, but not a day goes by that I don’t miss him. I’m sorry that you’re going through that too.
    We actually have a lot in common it seems, as my ‘baby’ is also starting prep at the end of Jan. I’ve been really emotional today (my eldest graduated from prep), but I think it’s mostly because this is the last time I will have my baby at home with me the majority of the time. I’m trying to suck it up, but those tears just keep coming back! Darn it!
    Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year 🙂
    xx

    • Yep, I have been an emotional WRECK! I’m sorry you’ve lost your dad, too. I know we have to go through it at some point, but honestly, some of us just go through it way too early and it’s so unfair! Well done to you on your weight loss journey, too! It is hard, but like everything that is hard, it’s worth it! 🙂

  11. 12kg is awesome. You look beautiful in both pictures, but I can tell from your smile in the second one that you feel great. It’s been lovely to get to know you this year. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas and all good things for 2013 xx

    • Thanks Catherine! Yeah, it wasn’t so much about how I *looked* as it was about how I felt – physically and emotionally! Anything is possible with a little bit of hard work, commitment and perseverance. Merry Christmas to you, too and look forward to following along in 2013.

  12. I know I am echoing what everyone else has said but seriously, you look fantastic now well done. It is hard work to get there I know I have been there too but I know I just felt so much better about myself after I did it and it really shows in your after pic here you just look so much more confident.
    Congratulations on your beautiful neice what a lovely lovely way to round off what sounds like a pretty great year for you.
    I have really enjoyed reading your posts since I moved to Oz and it has been really lovely to virtually get to know you this year. I have really appreciated your comments on my blog and your support for a little foreign and newbie blogger like me. 🙂
    Have a FAB Christmas. xx

    • Thanks Rhian! I definitely feel more confident, and that is half the battle, isn’t it?! I really enjoy your blog, and I know how hard it is to be on the opposite side of the world to your family. Look forward to following along in 2013. Hope you guys make the most of your summer Christmas! Go to the beach, make everyone back home jealous! 😉

  13. How awesome are you, losing 12kg?! Well done, you look amazing!
    And a new niece, what a blessing. I became an aunty this year too and it was amazing.
    Congratulations on a wonderful 2012! I have a little travel envy 😉
    Wishing you the merriest of Christmases, looking forward to another year of sharing x

  14. Just found you via FYBF. Nice to meet you!

    I’ve lost 20kg before – it’s an amazing feeling. (Unfortunately have just put 15kg back on this year with my second pregnancy, but have already lost 1.5kg and on the way back down again.)

    Merry Christmas.

    xxx
    Danya

  15. You look amazing so well done on loosing weight. Also, thank you for the comment you left on my blog post “The K subject”! I haven’t had time to respond yet but I was really touched by what you said. I wish you all the best for the New Year and I’m really looking forward to read more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

