Thankful For My boy

20121115-085035.jpg

I know I often mention my son when it comes time for Thankful Thursday, but today I’m dedicating my whole post to him.

Five years ago, when we moved back to Australia, I was newly pregnant. The timing was impeccable and we were excited about finally having a bub. We were determined to find out the sex “so we could prepare” (mostly because we were impatient).

I spent months wondering what he would look like, what kind of personality he would have. I couldn’t picture him. When he was a baby I couldn’t picture us having a toddler or a little boy. Never in my wildest dreams could I have imagined a little boy so cheeky, cute, sweet, kind, determined, independent and sensitive. At almost 4.5 years old I can say I am already so, so proud of him. I feel so lucky to be his mama and am complimented frequently on “what a good boy” he is.

20121115-090235.jpg

Mostly I am just so thankful to have a healthy and happy child. I think we take for granted that we will have children. I know for a fact we take for granted they will be healthy.

I read so many blogs and have so many friends who have daily struggles and challenges with their kids, whether it’s about food or behaviour or a learning difficulty and it is absolutely not lost on me how so truly, very, very lucky/blessed/fortunate we are for our boy.

He is not perfect, no child is. He has tantrums and melt downs over the tiniest things. Usually when he is beyond tired. But those moments are so few and far between.

More often than not he is a cuddly boy who likes to play tickle games and thinks farting and burping is hilarious. More often than not he is telling us he loves us, we are his best friend, that he misses us or that he is so so proud of us. He makes me laugh and smile daily.

I find we often expect him to act more like a 14 year old than a 4 year old. I think that’s a curse for only children. We need to take a step back, rember he’s only 4, and be thankful for him just as he is. I absolutely wouldn’t change him for the world.

20121115-092949.jpg

Linking up with the girls at We Heart Life for Thankful Thursday.

4 thoughts on “Thankful For My boy

  1. What a gorgeous post! You and I have similar thankful posts today, I also decided to dedicate an entire post to the beautiful things I love about my children. He is adorable, well done x

Leave a Reply

