Thankful Thursday

I have so much to be thankful for this week I don’t really know where to start. But I want to tell you a story. It’s about my husband and his ability to give gifts creatively. I’ve already told you about our wedding day gift surprise here. If you’ve read that, you’ll see this kind of thing is so typically him.

Saturday morning I walked into my closet to put something away and saw a box sitting on the shelf.

I freaked out. I was so excited! I had been dreaming of a new lens for my camera. I felt stale, stagnated with my photography and felt I was lacking the equipment to keep producing good pictures. I couldn’t believe how LIGHT this lens was! I ran to get my camera, noticing along the way that the lens was a bit scratched up. But I figured it was probably second hand, no biggie. Get the camera, and I can’t get the cap off the lens.

It wasn’t a lens at all. It was an exact replica..in the form of a coffee cup.

While I was in the middle of calling him an a$$hole and telling him just how NOT funny I thought he was, he produced the real one.

I’m so thankful for a thoughtful husband, even if he thinks its funny to prank me like this. He is almost always really great at giving presents. This is an early Christmas present so I have it to take pics with in NZ. I’m honestly not sure I’ll ever use another lens ever again!

This week I’m thankful again for my personal trainer and the group of girls I train with. I’ve received heaps of encouragement and support when I’ve struggled and fallen behind. I’ve received great compliments about how different I look and how well I am doing. When I’m tempted to toss it all in and put all this “training” shit behind me, they keep me going. I’m having a slightly harder time with the mental side of losing 10 kgs. I need to focus on how far I’ve come, not how far I think I still have to go. And I’m thankful to my online friends (Especially you, L) for reminding me of this constantly. It has also helped a little bit to look at pictures from before. My face, my arms, my (lack of) waist…it really has been a transformation.

I’m thankful for our upcoming holiday to NZ. It has been a really long time coming, and we have almost everything booked and planned now, except for 2 nights accommodation because we aren’t really sure where we’ll get to on those days of driving. I can’t wait to relax, unwind, share some vino with some much missed friends and explore the great south of NZ.

I’m thankful to my boss, for being so understanding when I told her I’m not coping. That I need an extra day off because I have too much going on in my life and not enough to time to let it all happen. I’m very much looking forward to dropping a day of work when we get back from holidays. It will give me time to breathe, to accomplish, to just be. It might even allow me to go out for a Melbourne Cup lunch! I mean, let’s get the priorities right here people!

Lastly, I’m thankful that both my sisters growing bubs appear to be thriving and growing as one would expect. I’m so excited to be welcoming a niece and a nephew in the next 6 months and I can’t wait for lots of baby cuddles and baby sitting time!

What are you thankful for this week? Won’t you share with us?

Linking up with Kate at Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday

Kate Says Stuff

7 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. I love how inventive M is – A can be like that at times as well. I can remember getting really p*ssy with him one Christmas because he made me look/hunt/search for all 7 rings for a necklace !!! He thought it was a great idea – me, not so much !
    Have the best day !
    Me

  2. Lovely post. Great how you’ve got some battles going on but still find the positives. I must admit I find pranks hilarious šŸ™‚
    Enjoy the lens and your holiday!

  3. This made me laugh! My man is exactly the same. Mr Nomad came home one day with the supermarket shopping and said there was more in the car. I went to get it out and sitting in the back was a mac.
    Your right once you use an L-series lens you will never go back! my 35mm stays on at all times.
    Happy shoots in NZ.
    Prue x

Leave a Reply

