A Superficial Thankful Thursday

I tell you what, I have heaps to be thankful for today.

Yesterday was supposed to be my big day off with Nick. The first week of tennis being on break, it was going to be just me and him, off to do whatever we wanted to. Then I woke up nauseated. And I don’t do puke. Like, At.All.

While I was devastated Nick and I didn’t get to have our fun date day, it made me realise how thankful I am for a few things.

I’m thankful Nick is my only child. I can only imagine how much harder yesterday would have been if he had a sibling to fight with all day while I was in bed sick.

I’m thankful he’s such a great kid, and enjoyed his day (in heaven most likely) watching all kinds of shows on TV. He didn’t bug me to play with him, take him somewhere, or anything all day. He just revelled in his newfound freedom to do as he pleased!

Incidentally I’m also thankful he’s a smart kid and knows how to work the apple TV.

I’m thankful for my mum, who came and picked him up, took him to swimming lessons and then back to her place. I managed to get a couple of hours sleep during this time.

I’m thankful I never actually threw up yesterday, even though I felt like I wanted to for most of the day. Like I said, I don’t do puke, I’d rather spend all day in bed doing breathing exercises than go and puke and get it out of my system.

I’m thankful I woke up this morning feeling better, if not slightly light headed and lacking energy from being in bed for 36 hours.

And I’m thankful work is so dead right now my boss said to stay at home, get some rest, and get back to 100%.

Lastly, I’m thankful I never had morning sickness with Nick, because I may not have made it through the pregnancy. One day of feeling nauseous and I couldn’t handle it, I was like a big baby. I can’t imagine 8, 12 weeks or worse, 9 months like a friend of mine had, of that. No thank you very much. Maybe it really IS a blessing we haven’t had another child, there’s no guarantee that because I didn’t have MS with Nick that I wouldn’t have it second time around.

Now I’m thankful for day to myself, to catch up on reading blogs, and if I’m feeling up to it, maybe even a leisurely stroll along the beach to get some fresh air.

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday. What are you thankful for today?

Kate Says Stuff

5 thoughts on “A Superficial Thankful Thursday

  1. Oh I’m totally the opposite – I’d take puke over nausea anyday, mind you puking 30+ times a day for 9 months will do that to you. Glad to read you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

