R U OK? Thankful Thursday with @KateSaysStuff

Today I am OK. I’m thankful I am OK. Because there have been many a day where I was not. For about 18 months following the birth of my son, I was mostly not OK. After my dad died, there were a lot of days I was not OK. And there have been a few days recently where I have, to be honest, barely held it together.

But I’m lucky. I have a husband who cares, a blog to vent, friends to listen…many people don’t. Or don’t feel they do. I’m so thankful for the support I have, the network I know that I can reach out to at any time and someone will be there.

I’m thankful for the gratitude journal I started in January, even though it fell by the way side a few months in, it was still enough to change my outlook on life. It is possible for a pessimist to become an optimist! I’m living proof! I’m thankful for Kate’s Thankful Thursday posts that make me, even amidst a rotten week, take stock for the things I have to be grateful for.

There’s a saying I used to use a lot, “Is there anything worse than [insert whiny rant here].” Mostly I’d end the sentence with something petty, like “drivers who don’t indicate” or “biting your lip instead of your food.” I can’t even bring myself to use the phrase anymore, even though it’s just a figure of speech. Because YES, there are about a trillion and ten things worse than anything I have to whine about!

What there’s NOT much worse than, is someone who is struggling, and they have no one to turn to. No one to help them climb out of the hole or vanquish the dark cloud. Someone who is completely at their wits end and has no where to go next.

If you, or you suspect someone you know, are not coping, please know there are so many resources out there that can help. The first time, with the post-partum depression, I started with my GP, then saw another GP who put me on medication. After my dad died, I saw another GP who referred me to a counselor. Both methods provided what I needed at the time and were immeasurable in helping me be OK.  Mostly, know that you are not alone. You don’t have to suffer in silence.

Check out the R U OK website for resources.

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday.

5 thoughts on “R U OK? Thankful Thursday with @KateSaysStuff

  1. I am glad to hear that you are OK today – let’s hope that today turns into tomorrow and all the tomorrows after that.
    You are an amzing woman who has enriched my life in so many ways – I’m here if you need ANYTHING !!!
    Have the best week ever !
    Me

  2. I am glad that you are going okay today hon. We are living in a great country with some great support means. Even this lovely blogging community is such amazing support. Sending love to you on this day x

  3. So glad you are OK now – I hate that we have so much in common but glad you got help both times. I wish I had counselling after my dad died (no one even thought of it strangely) and am so grateful I got help with my PND. You are strong and a wonderful woman and I am glad I have “met” you thanks to this blogging gig xx deb

  4. Oh beautiful lovely Thank you so much for sharing this. I am so glad you are OK right now and hopefully things will be onwards and upwards for you. Xxx

Leave a Reply

