Thankful Thursday: The Fitness Edition

I have so much to be thankful for, every week, even the tough weeks I can rattle of a list of things I’m so lucky/fortunate/blessed to have in my life.

This week I’m particularly thankful for my personal trainer and the girls I train with. I’m thankful that I took that first step – the running. I’m thankful I took the next step – group personal training. I’m thankful that after that first week, which was so, so hard, and showed me just how weak and out of shape I am, I went back. Not only did I go back, I signed up for 4 more weeks.

I’m thankful that 12 weeks later, I am still going, and I can see the difference. I can feel the difference in my fitness, I can feel and see the difference with my clothes. I have had to stop wearing some clothes because they were hanging off me. I’m thankful that I have a supportive husband who is more than ok with me spending the money and the time for training and running, who looks after Nick while I do these things.

I’m mostly thankful that this time it has stuck. I haven’t done it for a couple of months and then gone back to my old ways. Looking at runkeeper, April of this year was the first month I did 10 or more activities, so that is my starting point. Coming up on 5 months later, I can do pushups (albeit not many, but I couldn’t do even 1 when I started this), situps, burpees, I can run 7km without walking, I certainly feel more confident, and I feel like my fitness level is at probably the best it’s been at least in the last 6 years, if not ever.

But I still have a ways to go. And my personal trainer, the girls I train with, my husband and my virtual support team keep me going. They hold me accountable week in and week out. I have finally had that mental shift where by I understand this has to be a permanent change, not a temporary one. And I can tell, when I haven’t done anything for 3-4 days, that I start to feel lazy, lethargic, bloated. The benefits to exercise are so far-reaching and have so many mental and physical benefits it’s just unbelievable. I wish my 20 year old self had realised this. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that everyone has to come to that mentality shift on their own. For me it just got to the point where I was fed up of my clothes getting tighter and hating every photo I saw of myself. It was time to change, and change I have. The only thing left to conquer now is my eating. It’s not terrible, but there’s always room for improvement!

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff and her gorgeous new-look blog for Thankful Thursday.

Kate Says Stuff

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: The Fitness Edition

  1. Wow, that’s a great effort. The powers of exercise really are amazing, aren’t they. Glad you have that support and are getting so much out of it.

Leave a Reply

