Friday The 13th

I’ve never been superstitious about Friday the 13th, or the number 13 in general. My birthday is on the 13th, and my husband’s favourite/lucky number has been 13. 13, typically, is ok for us.

Source: google.com via Belicia on Pinterest

 

 

Today, it wasn’t so much. On my way to work, after the last three days off, I was rear-ended by a taxi. A maxi taxi no less. (“WTF is a maxi taxi?” my American friends asked – it is a mini van!). Thankfully Nick was not with me. Thankfully not much damage was done, and thankfully, I was not injured.

Unfortunately for me, I didn’t know what information to get from the driver. The only other accident I’ve been in as long as I can remember was with a brick wall. He took a picture of my license. I wish I’d done the same. Since he was in a taxi, I assumed I’d be able to get most of the information through the cab company. I did get his name, drivers license number, taxi number and registration. I didn’t get his personal address or phone number. When I called my insurance company, they wanted, no, NEEDED, his home address in order to waive my deductible. I was livid. The cab company wouldn’t give it to me and said that my insurance company should be able to complete a form and get the information. My insurance company suggested I call the police. This is not what I really needed, 3 days post-surgery.

Thankfully, I have a friend who was able to help me out, and I got the guy’s address. So that was one less worry on my plate. I wasn’t mad that the accident had happened. I know it happens, and happens easily. People don’t watch the car in front of them, they watch the traffic then he thought I’d gone and I hadn’t. I was mad that I didn’t know what information to get, that I was the one who was hit, and was now having problems getting things sorted out.

So now my car is booked in to be evaluated next week. But since I don’t have car rental on my policy, I’m not covered for that. Shouldn’t his insurance have to pay it? I’m not too keen on being without a car for a week, or paying a week’s rental, because some impatient taxi driver ploughed into the back of me.

Source: ffffound.com via Deborah on Pinterest

 

 

 

I’d been feeling somewhat sorry for myself – the surgery, now this accident, the drama with the insurance company, but then I read some other blogs. I read Trish’s blog, and I read about Deb’s friends in the US, and it put everything back in perspective for me. I’d pay for a rental car for a year if it meant not having to go through the trials and tribulations that so many others are going to sleep with tonight. Life can be cruel, it can be incredibly unfair and I just can’t even begin to imagine how people make it through the day, dealing with the shit life throws their way. I am so, so, so thankful that my biggest problem today is a crumpled bumper. And I hope with all hope, that being without a car for a week is my biggest problem of the decade.

2 thoughts on “Friday The 13th

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your accident this morning and totally get that, while it is inconvenient, it is a minor inconvenicence. We were only talking about that at work today – me struggling with menopause and then people who are suffering with incureable diseases, really, I have so much to be grateful for I need to just suck it up, put on my big girl panties and get on with living life because I can !
    Have a great weekend !
    Me

  2. Ugh, no matter how small, car accidents are plain inconvenient but you’re right, so trivial compared to some people’s struggles. I so needed to read this today. I’ve been sitting wallowing about my own situation, that is really not bad at all in comparison – no-one is sick, hurt or dying – and I feel like I’m being a big sooky la-la. Time to man-up and get on with it.

    Insurance companies and cab drivers are annoying 😉

Leave a Reply

