Team Friday: Making A Schedule @bbeingcool

20120706-073043.jpg

I have a confession. I haven’t been running as much as I should/could/have in the past. I’m going about 2 times per week and still going to training once a week. I’m finding it really hard to find the time, which is not a great excuse, but it’s so dark and cold in the early mornings and at night that I’d rather not go then, and I don’t have a treadmill. So that leaves before and after work and weekends. Which sounds like a lot of time, but between dropping and picking Nick up from kindy and work hours being extended on a few days, I find myself running around like a chook with its head chopped off when I try to squeeze in a run.

I’ve realised that a lot of things we do at personal training I could actually be doing at home. So last night we went shopping and picked up some boxing gloves and pads. I really enjoy the boxing, and I can feel it working my arms after a good punching session. This gives me a bit more flexibility on days I don’t run to come home and still do some kind of work out.

I think what I really need is a schedule. My work hours are set, Nicks kindy hours/days are set, so I can schedule in my running, group training and at home training around those. And make sure I schedule in one or two down times as well. This will change as the weather gets warmer, but it’s a start. Thursday’s are a good afternoon for me to run, but I’m finding myself so sore from training Wednesday night that it’s become a rest day. Fridays I still hurt, too! But I can’t keep using that as an excuse. I just need to sit down and figure something out.

The weight isn’t exactly falling off, but my clothes are fitting so much better. Actually they’re not just fitting better,they’re getting quite loose. My Lorna Jane pants are actually falling down as I run so I’ve been looking on eBay for a pair the next size down. I feel sick about spending almost $200 on pants that 2 months later don’t fit, but at least it’s because they’re too big,and not because I haven’t used them and they’re too small!

I have turned an important corner in the fitness and weight loss journey. I finally understand that this whole thing is a process, a marathon. It is not a sprint, there is no easy, overnight magical cure. It takes hard work, discipline, and commitment. But you also have to allow yourself some rest time,a treat occasionally, and to still enjoy life. It’s a delicate and difficult balance. But it is achievable and when you find it, it makes it all worth it.

Linking up with BBeing Cool for Team Friday.

4 thoughts on “Team Friday: Making A Schedule @bbeingcool

  1. I think you’re doing fantastic already!! If only there was more time in the days. Check out compression pants too, I bought mine for $100 and they are so much better than any tights I own. They last too and are awesome for all weather.
    I’m excited to hear more of your journey ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. schedules are awesome – i am glad you are working out what works best for you and what that looks like in your life. way too exciting you are too small for your leggings!!!

  3. Oh yes, I love this! When I was training for my half marathon, Mr Cool and I had a schedule on the fridge door. This was great – we knew that if we didn’t train on our set session, we missed it for the day. Great to accountable to someone.

    I also love what you said about weight loss being a marathon and not a sprint. How nice would it be if we just decided to drop weight and it came off! But, we wouldn’t appreciate it at all. It is the hard work and the perseverance that makes us stronger.

    Thanks for sharing this post – again – some great food for thought.

    Sorry for taking so long to get to this – I have been sick – blah….

    Go #teamfriday!

  4. I am so with you on the marathon not a sprint idea. I think that I will be watching what I eat- and I mean that in a really positive way – all my life. Hope to be putting care and attention into what I eat and eating really yummy, tasty food that’s (mostly!) good for me and helps my brain and body be strong and fit. With treats too. A balanced approach… healthy and sane… and lifelong!

    Go you with the training, sounds like heaps to me!

Leave a Reply

