Thankful Thursday with Kate Says Stuff

I’m thankful for a lot this week. I’m thankful for friends who come to visit and for friendships where it doesn’t matter if it’s been days, weeks or months between visits, it is like we just saw each other yesterday.

I am thankful for my health. Trish @ My Little Drummer Boys is going through something I wouldn’t wish on anyone, and she is doing it with grace, courage and a whole internets full of people cheering her on. It is a reminder that no matter how bad we perceive things to be in life, just to be alive and healthy are blessings we should never take for granted and should always be thankful for.

I’m thankful for the beautiful boy who fills my heart, who makes me smile, makes me proud, is kind, caring, sweet, is turning 4 on Saturday and calls me “Mummy.”

I’m thankful we decided on having a play centre birthday party! The weather has been crap, to say the least, and they’re not sure it will be clear by Saturday. I’m so thankful I don’t have to explain to a 4 year old why his birthday party in the park has been cancelled.

I’m thankful for my husband who works hard all week to provide for us, who is an amazing dad, who goes above and beyond around the house to help out – laundry, cooking, grocery shopping, you name it. Who loves me even when I’m at my most unlovable.

I’m thankful for my job. With all the bills coming up over the next couple of months plus our trip to NZ in October, I’m glad to have a steady income. I sometimes wonder how on earth we made do when we first moved back from the US, on a mere $650 a week. What a joke!

I’m thankful that I’ve been able to maintain my running/personal training schedule and lose a bit of weight. I feel so much better about myself, and while there’s plenty of times I would love to just quit all the exercise, I know that the second I do the weight will all come back on. I can’t say I love it – the running or the training, but I do love the feeling I get after it. And I also love the feeling I get when my old jeans are loose around the waist, or when I put a pair of jeans on from Before Nick (yes, I held on to some!) and they fit. I always feel better after a run or training, no matter how much I dread going before hand. I’m also thankful for all the support – from other mums/bloggers online and the girls in my training group. It helps to feel like you don’t want to let others down, and don’t want to be a quitter.

I’m thankful for rainy days and school holidays, that give me the chance to just chill at home with my boy. Even if it is partly spent doing laundry and other chores. To not have to go out is awesome. I can’t remember the last day I had like this.

Linking up with Kate Says Stuff for Thankful Thursday.Ā 

7 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday with Kate Says Stuff

    • it seriously is! i am so, so, sooooo glad we did it! I was almost not going to but hubby pushed for it. Can’t think of anything worse than having to tell a 4 year old his party is canceled and there’s no cake or presents! lol

    • Thanks Krystie. I am sure he will, too! I can’t wait! Unfortunately my sit around and do nothing days are very few and way too far in between these days!

Leave a Reply

