Thankful Thursday: I Am Awesome

I haven’t been as consistent with my gratitude or my Thankful Thursdays as I should be or as I would like to be. I haven’t been as consistent with my blogging, period, as I would like to be. As evidenced by my over 300-unread Google Reader posts and spotty, at best, posts of my own.

But today, reading Kate’s Thankful Thursday post this week, I felt compelled to participate. How often do you get to toot your own horn and talk about how amazing you are without being labeled a self-important, arrogant so-and-so?

This week Kate has prompted us to give three reasons why we are awesome. And then tag three other bloggers and list why we think they are awesome. Without further ado, here we go!

I am awesome because:

I Am Cheerful. I was going to put “happy” but that sort of made me laugh. There is many a time I am cranky and or tired, or have my grumpy pants on. But recently, this year really, I have really started to see the silver linings, search for the good, be optimistic about the world and life, and I try to wear a smile as much as possible. I hadn’t really thought about this much, but in the last couple of weeks I’ve been asked several times, “What are you so happy about?” It made me realise that you know what? I am pretty damn happy. What do I have to NOT be happy about? I’m very blessed!

I Am Encouraging. I love to cheer others on, and I like to cheer loudly. I do it because I know how much it means to me to have others in my corner, cheering me on. The world can be a cruel place, and people can be assholes, but it’s much nicer, more rewarding, more satisfying and more productive to be supportive. Beating people down will not make them do better, or achieve more. It will not make you happier. It will not make the world a better place. We should all be supportive of each other, and be big fans of each other. Wouldn’t that make life that much easier?

I Am Determined. I am determined to get fitter. Last night I wanted so badly to not go to training. But I knew if I didn’t, I would feel awful about myself. As I said to Linda, I won’t regret going, but I will regret NOT going. Of course after I went, I felt so much better for having gone. I am determined to make good choices. From the food I eat, to the things I say and the things I do. I am determined to make the days count. I am determined to DO instead of just SAY.

And I am tagging…

Linda at My Journey – Am I There Yet? because she is also encouraging and supportive. She has been one of the loudest in my cheer section. She is caring. She has come so far in her fitness journey and she inspires me to stay committed to mine. She is honest and she keeps me accountable.

Lyndal at Family of Killers because she is another of the loudest voices in my cheer squad. She encourages me in my journey, and she inspires me with her’s, because she is finding herself and her way through adversity in the workplace and outside it, through being true to herself and honest about who she is and what she wants.

MsMandie at Stuff Noone Told Mandie because she makes me laugh. Because she doesn’t care what other people think. Because she tells it how it is. Because when I am overwhelmed by how many blog posts I have unread, I go to her’s first, knowing that I will always read, nodding my head, because it’s like she’s writing my thoughts or stories.

Bonus Tag because I can: Debbie at Home Life Simplified because without her 52 week challenge, I would not have made the great strides that I have this year. Last year I felt I was being very negative, wallowing in my own self pity and bringing down everyone around me. I felt like I had to fake happiness. And then I somehow found Deb. And I am so grateful I did. She pushes you to ask WHY, to figure out HOW, to see the good, do good, to be a better version of yourself. And she is honest, on the journey with you as she pushes herself as well.

If you’re not reading any of these blogs, you should be!

I’m grateful this week to Kate for this blog idea, and to blogging for bringing so many amazing mothers/women/inspirations into my life. I feel like 2012 is the year I grew up. The year I started taking responsibility for my thoughts, actions, emotions, weight, happiness. It is a great feeling.

Linking up for Thankful Thursday with

8 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: I Am Awesome

  1. Oh A – I am sitting here covered in goose bumps. Thank you for the shout and the tag – I am also so glad I found you too ! You are an amazing woman who inspires me to keep going when I want to give up because I know that there are times when you want to give up but you don’t.

    I love this idea of Kates that we acknowledge our strengths, to others, and help build our friends up – I think we all like to be acknowledged and this is a great way to do it !

    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

  2. You ARE awesome! thanks for the shout out of thanks – I have loved watching all the changes develop from SYL with you. I love the 3 things you shared about you. I actually have a whole post for next week about encouraging others as i also think it is something we should do more of along with the focus on gratitude. LOVE it. No pressure ; ) but keep up the blogging – i love reading what you and Lyndal share! and thanks for your other tags as I did not know Linda’s blog and only recently came across MsMandie thanks to IBOT.

  3. LOVE! You totally did make me teary – there is nothing sweeter than good solid true friends who inspire and motivate you to be better and to keep plodding on the journey xx

  4. What a fantastic post, and what admirable and amazing qualities you possess. Thank you so much for your kind words about my little blog, and I love all the blogs you tagged, too! I’m really glad it makes you laugh, and I’m so pleased to have “met” so many like minded souls, and many others who aren’t afraid to have an opinion and a voice, share stories that make my laugh and ones that make me cry and others that inspire… and know how to respectfully and so entertainingly put it all out there, you are all of those things! Keep blogging because I’ll surely keep following 🙂
    Mandie xx

  5. Ohhh..OK so I haven’t read your blog for ages (I’m sorry, it used to update on my phone but it stopped months ago and I failed to fix it..), but I particularly love this [post and especially the bit about being encouraging, that is why I love you and you are my BFF xo

Leave a Reply

