First PT Session & Fitting Into Jeans

Two nights ago I went along to my first (group) personal training session. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but felt quite cocky, giving the running I’ve been doing and seeing how much my fitness level has progressed over the last 8 weeks. I thought maybe there’d be 3 or 4 of us, there was 7! Two of them were teenage girls (trainer’s daughter, and another trainee’s daughter), but the 4 other ladies were so fit! Trim, toned, exactly what I want to be and exactly why I sought out the PT session to start with.

We started with a run around the trainer’s street (we train at her house). She’s in a hilly area, which was overwhelming for this flat-path-runner! I suddenly realised how fit I am NOT! Next it was to the mats for pushups and sit ups. It has quite probably been more than 5 years since my last sit up or push up! Then into a circuit, with activities like skipping, ย arm weights, lunges, running, side planking, bench squats, and yoga-ball-push-up-things. In between circuit activities we did star jumps, burpies and squats.

I survived the first session, knowing I hadn’t done as much as the others, but the trainer said to me, go at my pace, do what I can, those girls have been training at least 6 months, some up to 3 years! They were all impressed that I didn’t throw up or leave half way through! I drove home, feeling proud of myself, but wondering how I would feel the next day.

Yesterday morning I woke up and thought, “This is not so bad.” Fast forward to this morning, and sitting here typing this is making my arms hurt! In bed, rolling from my back to my side hurts. Getting the full carton of milk out of the fridge this morning, hurt. Blowing my freaking nose this morning, my abs hurt. Abs! I had forgotten I had any muscle in there! But boy do I know they are there today!

I know, no pain, no gain. I can certainly see that this training will really help me tone up and hopefully slim down. But how long will I hurt for? And what toll will hurting for 3 days a week take on the rest of my exercise, like running? I should be running today, as I haven’t since Tuesday but with my arms and legs this sore, I wonder if I should?

Last night, after being somewhat discouraged from not seeing the scales make any significant movement (I think I’ve lost a couple of kgs in the last 8 weeks or so, which feels like nothing!), I tried on my jeans. My jeans were the reason I started running back in the middle of March. We had a cold day, and I put my jeans on. I could barely get them done up, and when I did, there was more muffin top than a bakery! I was so disgusted. But last night, I pulled the jeans out, and bravely tried them on. Oh my god! Hallelujah! The scales might not show a loss, but clearly I have lost inches. The jeans not only did up easily, but there was barely a muffin top in sight.

It would be easy to stop running, to not go back to training, to settle for fitting back into my jeans. But this is what I have always done, I have lost just enough weight to feel better about myself, and then I’ve reverted to my old ways. Thus being caught in a vicious cycle. This time is different. This time I want it more. This time I have support. This time I know what my past mistakes were. This time I am holding myself accountable. This time I have spent a small fortune on running/exercise clothes! This time I will. not. quit.

And to help keep me accountable, I’m linking up with B Being Cool for #TeamFriday. Won’t you come and join us?

http://bbeingcool.com

17 thoughts on “First PT Session & Fitting Into Jeans

  1. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your post – you should be so proud of what you have achieved !!!!!

    DOMS (delayed onset muscle stiffness) is always worse on the second day after your exercise. The best thing you can do is some gentle stretching of those muscle groups that are sore. It won’t take long until you find you have to really push yourself at training in order to feel DOMS. I love that feeling because then I know that I have pushed myself just that little bit harder than normal.

    You could go for a short run (no more than 3km I would say) – but don’t push yourself – it is OK if your pace is slower than your normally run – but keep those muscles working.

    I love that you aren’t worried about the number on the scales but judging by how your clothes fit – that is what I am aiming for – and, while I am happy with how I look, the number on the scale every morning is still important to me (as much as I really want to say that I don’t care what it says, I do !!!)

    Have the best Friday !
    Love, hugs and positive energy.
    Me

    • I’m not really worried about the number on the scales, but would still like to see it moving, and it’s not, really. Would be a little added motivation if they were. Have a pair of capris on today that used to be tight and now I have room in the waist, so I know my body IS changing, trying to cling to that for motivation when I want to quit (which is often, lately).

    • It’s about 95% gone. I can still see a slight one, but it’s nowhere near as bad and isn’t offensive to the general public, like before! Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow – this is AWESOME! Love this! So motivating when you see progress and work out what it is that you want and how to get it!

    So very impressed….

    Another high five here for not having a muffin top!!

    Thanks for linking in with #teamfriday… so appreciate motivating posts like this – you are AMAZING!

    Mwah,
    B

    • Thanks B! And thanks for keeping Fitness Friday going with Team Friday! It is very motivating to feel like I’m accountable to others, and to see what others are doing as well.

  3. Congrats on the jeans fitting! I have found that the scales are not very true in terms of loss but the fit of clothes definitely is – something to do with muscle weighing more than fat and redistribution of said muscle.
    As for the hurting and not feeling like you can go running, once your in a few minutes you won’t feel it for the whole time you are running, but it will soon come back after.
    I speak of experience, like over a year and a half ago now with group PT sessions and losing a lot of centimetres (which eventually started showing on the scales), I really need to get back into it, just reading you talk about it has made me realise just how much I loved it and miss it! Congrats again, I have popped in a few times over the last few months and know how hard you are working, it really is great to hear you are getting results!!

    • Thank you for your comment Stacey-Lee! I have been working hard, but still feel I’ve been slack at times! I need to learn to give myself a break! i wouldn’t say I “love” all this exercise, but I do love the way it makes me feel. I guess that’s what keeps me going when I think I’d like to just quit and get more sleep!

  4. Uh… what are “star jumps” & “burpies?”

    Yay for hardly a muffin top is sight!!! (I have to admit I loved your comment about more muffin tops than a bakery! LOL Too funny!!) Go you!!! Keep it up! Congrats!!!

  5. Hooray for you and definitely don’t stop now… it’s just the start! We mums need to keep our hearts healthy so we can live a long time and be grannies, our kids need us around for a long time. I do find it more motivating now to think about my long-term health (am getting so old!!) and for me staying in the jeans is also motivating.

    • you’re so right Seana. Staying healthy IS a huge priority now that I’m a mum. Definitely want to be around for a very, very long time! Getting into my jeans was motivating, now I want them to be falling off so I need to buy new ones! Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. You’re doing an awesome job! My knees have started hurting on the treadmill so I’ve had to back off and I hate it, feel as though my days are missing something.

    Creating lifetime habits is hard, but you’re on your way!

    • Amen it IS so hard to create lifetime habits. But so easy to break them!? The good ones, that is. Bad habits seem easy to keep. Why is that? Have you tried a knee brace/bandage? I am paranoid about injury and having to sit out, because I know I will never get back into it. Hope you can work something out so you can keep active! Thanks for stopping by Jayne ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

