Unblocking Bloggers Block

I haven’t been blogging much lately because I’ve been suffering from what I believe to be bloggers block. So what am I going to do? I’m going to sit down and try to hammer out a post in 20 minutes, because I have to be at work in less than an hour. Maybe it will clear the cobwebs?

At the start of the year, I joined in with Deb’s 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life. We talked about what went right last year, what our priorities are, what goals we have for this year, and so much other stuff. And then somewhere around the 4 month mark, I fell off the blogosphere.

Thinking about my priorities, my goals, what made me happy, what the GUTS of life is really about, made me realise how much time I was wasting. I was sick of myself – sick of being a misery guts, of complaining about everything, of not being happy with my self confidence, self image, my body. I was sick of sitting around waiting for either a magical fairy to wave her wand and fix everything, or for the bottom to just completely fall out. I was coasting.

Deb has made it clear, that we don’t have to achieve all our goals at once. That we can chip away at each, or we can really work on the ones most important to us, or the ones that need the most work first. My fitness/health/body image was dire. My clothes were all getting tight, and when I tried on the three pairs of jeans I lived in last winter and they looked disgusting (honestly, no other word for it, and this was not me being self-deprecating, they could not be seen in public), I knew what had to change.

One of my health goals was to exercise 30-60 minutes, 3 times per week. I’m happy to say I have not only achieved this, I’ve absolutely smashed it out of the park. And yesterday, I ran 4.98kms in just under 37 minutes. My personal best ever. I haven’t lost a ton of weight, but I do feel more confident, my clothes fit better, I can tell how much fitter I am (and quicker on the tennis court!) and overall it makes me feel great.

Here’s the activities I’ve recorded with runkeeper (a fantastic app for bikers, runners, walkers alike, check it out!) since the middle of March:

I used to come home from work, eat, watch TV, blog/Facebook/Tweet, now I leave work, go for a run, come home and by the time I’m showered it’s time to get Nick, come home and make dinner. I used to drop Nick off at kindy, come home and blog/Facebook/Tweet, now I drop him off, go for a run, shower and go to work. Running is slowing becoming ingrained in me. I still have to make myself go sometimes, it is not always a thrilling thought to get geared up and take those first steps. But during and afterwards, it feels so good. It feels good to work, to push myself, to sweat, to see the numbers. Oh the numbers. I never knew running could be such a numbers game!

I’m hoping in the next couple of weeks there will be some changes at work, too. I haven’t been overly happy, sometimes having to work 6 days a week. Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending how you look at it) they’re all half days. Which means I still get some time to myself, but also means that every day is interrupted by having to go to work. Watch this space to see how that may change soon.

I have my mum’s birthday, a trip to Melbourne, my son’s birthday all coming up in the next 6 weeks, so there’s no sign of slowing down just yet. But that’s ok, because while slow times are necessary and good, it’s also nice to be busy and to have things to look forward to. I’m just not sure where that leaves my blog. But I’m sure it will still fit in around everything else.

I feel like I’ve done a lot of soul searching this year, and it is mostly in part to Deb’s challenge. I highly recommend checking it out if you haven’t already done so. Even if you just work at away at the exercises on your own, you will be surprised what you learn about yourself, if you are completely honest and give it 100%.

 

2 thoughts on “Unblocking Bloggers Block

  1. You have done an AMAZING job with your exercising – and often are the ‘voice’ I hear when I am thinking about whether to get out there or be lazy !!!

    You are right – while it is good to have things slow and on track – sometimes it is good to have things to look forward to, plans to be made and things to be done.

    Enjoy your Mom’s party, have a FANTASTIC trip to Melbourne, plan a great party / time for N’s birthday – and blog when you can. We aren’t going anywhere and will be here when you have a chance to connect.

    Thanks for the tip re my blog for Dad – might just do that (but will have to do something similar for my Mom or she might feel left out !!!)

    Love, hugs and positive energy.
    Me

  2. Awesome effort! I got back on the treadmill today after I killed my knee and took just over two weeks off. A few months ago I would’ve quit altogether. The numbers are such a motivator, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

