Thankful Thursday with @KateSaysStuff

I sometimes picture God* sitting up there, looking down, pulling his hair out, screaming, “YOU JUST DON’T GET IT! YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!”

We are slow to forgive, slow to love, but quick to anger and quick to judge. We are self-absorbed, self-important and don’t value others. We jump to conclusions, we often lose perspective and sight of the big picture.

We chase the meaning of life, never realizing that the meaning is right in front of us. We search search religions, search the planet, search the internet, looking for answers. The answer is within us.

I know it’s impossible to live every minute of every day in an enlightened state. It takes a conscious effort to not let the little things like traffic, lines at the grocery store, the weather set the tone of our moods. But we CAN be conscious of our thoughts, our words, our reactions. We CAN choose to keep calm, live and let live. And by that I mean be free to live our lives and let others live theirs. No judgement.

I’ve been reading about some bloggers being bullied, harassed, abused, and it absolutely disgusts me. And these people try to justify their comments by saying that if bloggers put it out there and make it public, they should take the responses. That’s a load of shit, if you don’t like what you’re reading, close the page. Just because it’s out there it doesn’t give you the right to throw your miserable 2cents worth in at the end.

Where is all this going? I’m not sounding very thankful?

I’m thankful that I have (finally) learned to LET.GO.
I’m thankful that I’ve learned to let go of worrying about everyone else.
I’m thankful that I’ve figured out what is important in my life.
I’m thankful that my past is relatively clean, and doesn’t haunt me every day.
I’m thankful my blog is quite small and not as criticised as the bigger/more popular blogs.
I’m thankful for the kindness and support of others. Don’t we all deserve kindness and support?
I’m thankful for this year and all the changes it has brought within me.

On a separate note…I’m thankful for yesterday, ANZAC day, for remembering the fallen, the brave, the selfless who fought for us and our freedoms. I’m thankful for Dawn Services that are filled to the gills at 5am with people who want to honour our service men and women. I’m thankful for my grandfather who served in WWII (rest in peace poppa) and shared with my mum what it was like, just weeks before he died. I’m thankful for my brother-in-law, currently serving in Afghanistan, may he come home safely.

I’m just thankful for life. We are so lucky/fortunate/blessed and yesterday’s dawn service really hit home to me.

What are you thankful for? Share it with us at Kate Says Stuff.

 

*I don’t actually know what God looks like, or which one I’m referring to, but there’s something/someone somewhere/somehow. And he (or she) is pissed!

14 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday with @KateSaysStuff

  1. What a lovely post ! Thank you for reminding all who read of what we can practice to make life just a little nicer for everyone !
    Have the best Thursday ever.
    Me

    • It’s easy to forget, sometimes! If everyone could just go back to “treat people the way you want to be treated” the world would be a better place.

    • You are right, it isn’t easy. But we also tend to make it much harder on ourselves than it necessarily has to be. Not to say some people don’t have it really tough, they absolutely do, I think my journey has been about realising it isn’t as tough as it seems, in my case.

  2. Wow, I’ve been under a rock (or a packing carton more precisely) for a while now and have missed this stuff. Which makes me glad actually :s

    I do not understand the need to be nasty. Like you said, if you don’t like it close the page. Not hard!

    Glad you have thanks too though 🙂

    • I think people are nasty b/c they can hide behind a computer screen and anonymous name. It is disgusting, and makes me wonder what kind of miserable life they lead “IRL”. I love blogging for the community and the support. Not because I think I can judge and criticise everyone anonymously. How sad that that’s what people get out of it. Hope your move is over quickly and painlessly and you can get back into a routine again!

  3. What a great post. Hoorah to common sense.

    We really have so much to be thankful for don’t we? I love this link up!

    • What’s that saying? Common sense, not so common?? I love it too, it’s a great weekly reminder of all the wonder in the world!

    • wouldn’t the world be a nicer place if everyone lived by that? unless someone is physically/emotionally hurting you or your family, it shouldn’t worry you what they are doing.

  4. There are so many beautiful thoughts in your post. I love the bits about being conscious and calm – this is a big one for me at the moment as I’m trying to learn to model this for my little men too, about not judging, and about kindness and support. Thank-you for your lovely words.

    • it is the hardest part! it has been easy for me to fly off the handle, snap, yell…and i keep telling myself *I* don’t like to be yelled at, so why would a child? i think it’s all about counting to 10 and/or walking away before reacting. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

