Thankful Thursday. The Men In My Life Edition.

Every now and then I have to remind myself how very, very lucky I am. And I know I take it for granted.

Do you know what my husband does? In no particular order, he cooks, he does laundry, he irons, he packs his own lunch, he does the grocery shopping, he does dishes, he often has Nick for the better part of a day while I’m at work, during which time he takes him to the beach, Dreamworld, the park…all this while working 40 hours a week.

I know he does a lot more than most. But I still take it for granted and don’t say thank you enough (at all?).

My son is amazing. If I’m to have just one child, I certainly could not have asked for a better one. He is funny, easy going, gentle, kind, smart, cheeky and so, so sweet. He and I had the best day together yesterday at Seaworld, through rain and all. He’d been talking about the dolphins all morning, but unfortunately but the time we got there, the next dolphin show wasn’t for another 4 hours. I had no intention of being there that long, but it seemed I had no choice. We entertained ourselves long enough for the afternoon shows to start, and watched the sea lions (in the rain), the Dora show (undercover) and then headed (again in the rain) to the dolphins. He walked and held my hand for most of the day, a far cry better than his seemingly out-grown stage of running anywhere and everywhere, not caring where I was! We bought towels to keep us dry, ice cream to pass the time, and popcorn to occupy the wait time between shows. He was in awe of it all, pointing out sharks, fish, “Dory” (“Mama, where’s Nemo?”), stingrays, starfish, Sponge Bob and Boots and Dora. We rode the train. Six hours later, we headed home. On the way, he fell asleep and woke up 13 hours later (at 5:30 am this morning!).

I can’t remember the last time we had a day like that, just me and him. Probably before I went back to work. This morning he says to me, “Mummy, don’t go to work, stay home with me.” I’m not sure if my heart broke or melted, but it hurt.

I wished that every day could be Seaworld day, but then I guess in reality, if it was, it wouldn’t be as special.

I’m so thankful for the men in my life. And I’m thankful for the Seaworld days, even if they are sometimes few and far between.

Linking up with Kate for Thankful Thursday.

23 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday. The Men In My Life Edition.

  1. Oh that is awesome! It’s true, if we had that every day it wouldn’t be as special. I guess it’s all about living in the ‘now’ and appreciated those moments when they do crop up! Great post ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Loz! It is true I guess, we need the average (and bad, to an extent) days to appreciate the good. Can’t wait to do it again, gives us something to look forward to.

  2. I’m yet to take the plunge and go back to work, but I can imagine my heart would break/melt at that question too. Sounds like a fabulous day with your beautiful boy. And your hubby sounds like a keeper too.

    • The whole point of going back to work was to give me a few days break, with adults, using my mind…it’s turned into 5 or 6 days a week and is far too much. Not at all what I had in mind, but hard to go back for various reasons at this point in time. Hopefully soon can cut back to 4 days.

  3. What a lovely post. We are both blessed to have such wonderful people in our lives – it sounds like A is very similar to M in what he does at home and, while K can drive me to drink at times, she is growing into a lovely young lady that I am proud of.

    Have the best day ever – lots hugs for your broken/melted heart !
    Me

    • I’m sure my heart will melt/break a million times over as Nick grows! You are right, we’re both so very lucky!

  4. How cute. Your right about not thanking the husbands. Even though my hubby doesnt do as much as yours but he helps his their and that the main thing.

    • I think everyone has their own way of contributing, and everyone likes to feel appreciated. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Nicole! I am very lucky! And yes, the kids would love Seaworld! Though my favourite of all up here on the coast is Dreamworld. SO much more than the other parks all in one place. It’s awesome!

    • It’s a conscious effort to keep reminding myself how lucky I am. I know plenty of women who do all the cooking/laundry/cleaning, make their husbands lunches and work and look after the kids. They make me exhausted thinking about it!

  5. That’s such a beautiful post. I took my daughter to Seaworld when she was a bit younger than that. It was such a fun day. Such a lovely sentiment about the things your husband does. : )

    • We had passes when Nick was about 12-18 months old and he was a bit little for most of it, but he could run and wear himself out. Now he “gets it” and loves it!

  6. Ooh, that would hurt. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ At least you have the days you do have. You have some pretty special men in your life. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

