Week 15. {52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life}.

Week 15 Challenge : Conduct a Time Audit. Say “No” to say “Yes”.

This is pretty much what the main chunk of my week looks like. These are the main things in my life that the rest has to revolve around. “The rest”. You don’t realise how much of “the rest” there is until you start wondering where all your time goes. The urgent things on this list get tended to, most of the time. The not urgent, that gets tended to also. Chores, like laundry, cooking, cleaning, all get done several times a week. But that doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for other things, like reading, napping, scrapbooking, photography, connecting with friends…so many things I wish there was more time for on a weekly basis. But they’re just not high enough up the list to make the cut.

I have never liked when people (especially myself) use the excuse, “I’m just so busy.” There’s no such thing as being so busy. There is such a thing as being over-stretched, run-down, poor time management, laziness, the list goes on.

I learned a long time ago that I could not say “Yes” to everyone and everything, that I could not be everything to everyone all the time. So I tried to simplify things. And this challenge has helped greatly with that. Unfortunately one of the things that became less important was this blog. It certainly has not been given the attention that a lot of blogs get. Which made me question why I started it in the first place. It was supposed to be a documentation of my life, my feelings, events (good and bad). Somewhere along the line it became a tool for interacting with other bloggers and that takes on a whole different course in itself.

Even today, I find myself torn: write this blog post or go and read 50 Shades of Grey that I downloaded to my iPad? There’s just no way I can read all the blogs I’m subscribed to, post to my own blog, keep up with twitter/facebook/instagram/allothersocialmedias.

I haven’t officially audited my time this week, but I can tell you what I spend most of my time doing.

  • Working (35 hours)
  • Watching TV (20 hours)
  • Social media 7-10 hours (and I still can’t keep up!).
  • Sleeping 56 hours

That all ads up to 121 hours. There are only 168 hours in a week and not included in this time is cooking/eating, showering, exercising, driving, shopping, and chores. I don’t know about you, but right away I see about 30 hours worth of stuff I could cut back on! That, technically, should make some extra room for all “the rest.” Now to figure out where to start!

8 thoughts on “Week 15. {52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life}.

  1. So great to really think about where your time is going. Even if it’s time for some ‘nothingness’ – something I used to have no time or motivation for. But now, an hour sitting having a cuppa and watching my girl play is a must for me.

    Good luck!

    • I could probably account for another 5-8 hours of driving time, if I was really paying attention/auditing, and another 5-8 hours of breafkast/shower/get ready in the mornings…it really does all add up and slip away so quickly!

  2. I know that you are definitely not alone in this dilemma. Until we stopped our night jobs I felt the same – no time for anything really. Now it is much easier to slot things in that need to be done when they need to be done – and there is even time for me to do some of the things I want to do !

    Have a great day !
    Me

    • I think life is all about making the time to do what we want, isn’t it? I know we still have obligations and responsibilities, but once they’re done, there’s not enough time to be sitting around doing nothing! Unless that is what it is you really want to do!

  3. I love how you have worked out where 121 hours is a week go. I think you still need to allow some time wasters – as I once read, time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time (or something like that) – basically you need to have some time time to just chill…Well done on your audit.

    • That’s a good point. Time enjoyed wasting is not time wasted indeed! As long as you’re not enjoying wasting ALL your time…(for me, anyway!) haha

  4. i think that everyone reading this will nod in agreeement! it gets tough – life is incredibly busy and full and rich, but it doesn’t mean that juggling the balls is easy in the slightest!!! Look at how far you have come this year though – I have a sneaky feeling that finding the right balance/fit for you and your family is not far away xx

    • Thanks Lyndal! I have a sneaky feeling you are right. We are going along pretty good at the moment! Thank you for following my journey!

Leave a Reply

