Week 14 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

I am a couple of weeks behind, but racing to catch up, with Deb’s 52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life. The irony that I have fallen behind just as we have started the section on planning and time management is not lost on me. I will not make excuses. I hate excuses. I especially hate when people say, “Oh I have just been so busy!” I hate this for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it makes me feel like they think their life is more fulfilling/important than mine. As if being busy means you are someone important or something. Secondly, you have just as much time in the day as anyone else, so either you’re trying to do too much, you are CRAP at managing your time, or you’re a big fat liar and the truth is you just don’t WANT or THINK to take the time to do whatever it is you’re using the lame “I’ve just been so busy” excuse for. (end/Rant)

Week #14 Challenge : Review and Adjust Planning Strategies 

I feel like I have always been somewhat organised. I like making lists and I don’t know how I got by before my iCal on my iPhone (or, truthfully, how I got by before iAnything). Apart from about 2 years during which time I was pregnant, gave birth, and apparently pushed out some of my memory with the placenta, I feel I have always been pretty on top of things organisational-wise. I have managed my time well (enough), I have remembered important dates, I have been prepared for things I had coming up, including meetings, birthday parties, holidays, etc. I’m not saying I am a perfect planner. I am far from it. But this has not been a part of my life that I have felt has needed work. WIth the exception of one thing. I NEVER think about DINNER. Luckily for me, my husband always thinks about what needs to be taken out of the freezer. Left to my own devices, all meals end up a day later than planned because I forgot to take the meat out.

Our fridge

My main tool, my only tool really, for planning these days, is my iPhone. I can make grocery lists with the ShopShop (or Woolworths) app, I can set a reminder with an alarm to go off at a certain time, OR when I arrive or leave a certain address (this blew my mind when I first learned of it), I can make notes, make voice memos, and put all the important dates/information into iCal also with alarm reminders…is it any wonder I feel completely lost without my iPhone???

I could actually stand to set more reminders. I tend to put things in my iCal and then I don’t actually look at it, unless someone asks me about a particular date. I don’t actually check to see what is going on this week, and I should really do that more.

And I can only imagine what I could achieve with less TV/Computer time (by which I mean less Facebook/Instagram/Twitter/Blogging).

But I finally feel like I have a decent balance. I feel like we spend a lot more time out doing things than we do sitting around doing nothing. And if we ARE sitting around doing nothing, we have probably just got back from a whole day of doing as much as possible. And I’ll admit, having an “only child” definitely makes it easier. I could definitely see the need to be more organised if I had another child (or 3) but we are pretty easy-going at this stage of things.

So all in all I think what I’m trying to say is that I don’t know where to go with this part of the challenge. But I will be interested to see what others do, what kind of tools or methods I could put in to practice to make things even more efficient. I don’t think anything is ever perfect…always a work in progress.

9 thoughts on “Week 14 {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

    • It has just ALWAYS bothered me! And I *have* caught myself saying it and then I actually say “No I haven’t…” haha.

  1. oh how good is your husband re dinner and planning! LOVE IT! I think balance is a great thing to have, and a great place to be. Totally agree with the ‘i’ve been busy’ excuse… because really, we all are. I’m laughing at work, because imagine if instead of using that they said the truth, like ‘i just couldn’t be bothered’ or ‘eating was really more important at that time’ or like you said, ‘im a big fat liar and im more important than you’ lolololol…

    • my husband is REALLY good with dinner and always cooks on the nights I am at work til 6, which is currently 3 nights a week! And that is hilarious, picturing someone actually saying that LOL!

  2. Totally agree with your post about people being too busy !!!! I live and die by my calendar. I have to be honest, I am not that impressed with the calendar function on the iphone – not when it is compared to the calendar on the BB. Just little things like appointments disappearing at the end of the time of the appointment – I like it to stay there until I cancel it – along with a couple of other little things that just don’t work as well on the iphone as the BB. But that is OK – I can work around those.

    You are right – it is all about getting the balance right that works for you and your family because what is good for us doesn’t work for others. As long as you get it right 80-90% of the time – I reckon you are doing a great job.

    Love, hugs and positive energy !
    Me

    • I didn’t realise appointments disappear after they’re gone?? Maybe there’s a setting for that, because I don’t think mine do? I think I’m finally starting to get it right most of the time, but know a couple of areas that could use some work. xo

  3. “I tend to put things in my iCal and then I don’t actually look at it” – that’s so me! I really rely on my iDevices and apps too. Almost too heavily. Great post. I love the honesty. I agree with you about people talking about being busy.

    • I’m starting to set more reminders – for 2 days before, so that I don’t miss something coming up because I didn’t look. Highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

