Week 12. {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

Week 12 Challenge : 12 Weeks in to SYL, What Shifts Have Taken Place

To be honest, I don’t even know how I found Deb’s blog. I have connected with so many amazing women since venturing out into the wide world of blogging. I actually started blogging about 10 years ago, but it’s only been the last year or so that I’ve realised just how many bloggers are around, and the community that comes with blogging, if you let it.Β 

At the end of last year I was feeling very flat. I could hear, every time I opened my mouth, a whinge coming out. I felt very negative about everything, I could only see the negative. It had been a really shit year, losing both my dad and uncle at such young ages to heart disease and Dementia. I knew I needed to do something, to change, but I didn’t know what or how I would do it.

Then Deb announced she was doing a 52 week challenge. Another friend told me about her journaling and her gratitude journal. So January 1, I started one, too. I wasn’t sure what to expect really. But just a week into it, I could already feel my attitude changing.

It’s been almost 3 months since I started the journal and Simplify Your Life challenge, and while I still have days where I see red, and everything feels like shit, I almost always can see the silver lining and do not stay cranky for long. If something upsets me, I can see a benefit of it. For example, this week’s drama is getting my passport sorted and it’s been a mega hassle, not to mention turning out pretty damn expensive. Almost $400 to be exact. Which is almost the exact amount we saved on airfare when booking a holiday recently when Virgin had a big sale. Now, that $400 could have gone towards something on our holiday, instead, it is going towards my passport. I’ve been livid, but really, I should be thankful we saved the $400 on airfare, so it wasn’t another $400 on top of what we would have spent. If that makes sense.

Another example is my job. It makes me crazy. It makes me crazy that I work 5 days a week and we barely get ahead. But I am thankful for the job, because if I didn’t have it, we’d be getting so far behind, and jobs are scarce around this neck of the woods. I’m lucky to have a job at all!

When my husband’s ute broke down, I could have flown off the handle. But I realised that wouldn’t help the situation. The old me would have thought it was the end of the world. The new me wasn’t frustrated it happened, just frustrated that we hadn’t prepared for it. It’s an old ute, we should expect it to have problems. But we fixed it, moved on, and I didn’t give myself an ulcer over it.

I can definitely see a shift in my attitude, my thoughts, my reactions to situations and my general outlook on life.

Not only that, but part of my values, goals, and wheel of life was to be more spontaneous. To do more as a family. To do things we want to do, and not put them off. I noticed when things went right last year it always had to do with getting away from it all – work, chores, our every day life. We can’t take life for granted and expect that “one day” we will be able to do things. We are working our bums off, and we are going to enjoy life as much as possible while we can.

So on a whim, hubby and I booked a 2 night/3 day trip to Melbourne in June and an 8 day trip to the South Island of New Zealand in October. We’ve cut back on our weekly expenses and work as much as we can so that we can pay for these trips up front. While it is important for us to have fun and explore and have adventures together, it is also important to do it somewhat in a financially-responsible manner.

We have things to look forward to, things to plan, which sometimes is half the fun! Instead of moping around that we aren’t falling pregnant, that we may end up with an “only” child, that we never do anything fun, we are making other plans. Plans that make us smile and excite us.

Now that my mind-set has shifted into a positive place, it’s time to work on the physical. I have become so disgusted with my laziness. It’s the thing that is most suffering at the moment, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned from the first 12 weeks of this challenge, it’s to identify what areas of my life are lacking and work on them. I am taking care of myself mentally, but not physically. I have had a poor diet, I have done next to zero exercise, and my clothes are quickly getting tighter and tighter. It is time to get as serious about my physical being as it I am about my mental. I can tell that the heavier I get, the more it affects other areas of my life – my relationship, my moods, my self-worth. Exercising and getting fit and healthy doesn’t just help my appearance, it helps everything.Β I’m ready to really work on it. There is no time like now.

There is no time like now to start Deb’s 52 Week Challenge. Join in where you want, catch up if you want, link up if you want, or don’t. At least read the challenges and give yourself some food for thought.

7 thoughts on “Week 12. {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

  1. Oh wow you are doing great. You have had such great changes to your mindset! Well done. Ohh and those breaks sound awesome! I’m jealous! We are planning on going to Thailand this year – but still at the planning stage (eg. haven’t even decided which month go go)…you have inspired me to get cracking on this!

  2. I’m with you, I could rave about this challenge all day long! Thank goodness for Deb and all the others joining in. I love that you have found yourself in a better place this year. Love the positivity.So excited for your overseas trips. Yay! Remember, balance out that $400 cost over the lifespan of the passport. Ten years, isn’t it! Oh, how many trips you are going to enjoy with that $400. Have fun!

  3. “No time like now !” – so true !
    Life is going to be full of ups and downs. Many moments of feeling we’re so run down from just keeping up let alone getting ahead. But sounds like you’ve come a long way in the past 3 months. That’s awesome to hear πŸ™‚

  4. you have a fantastic mind set!! Well done on those changes in attitude and thinking. I have found this challenge so amazing and I am starting to pause long enough to see that there is a positive in almost everything, at least something that makes it ok instead of the end of the world. You sound so positive πŸ˜€ Congratulations!

  5. I love this post! Well, I mean, I know that some crappy things have been happening, but you have such a positive outlook and great sense of humour about it all, I love it!!

  6. Thats so great that you have booked not one but two getaways!!! It is fun planning them and thinking about them, and its to true we really do need to get away from it all every now and then. I think its great that you have noticed positive changes, and who knows where you will be in another 12 weeks!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Looks like Deb’s challenge is already making changes to your life and the way you think and react in situations I feel the same. I can really relate to seeing the worst of every situation but lately haven’t let the usual problems bother me and just deal with them. Means they weren’t really problems just a blip in our week. You have given me some ideas about a holiday though…now to convince my hubby! Annaleis xx

Leave a Reply

