It Must Be A Sign

Back in 2007, my husband and I made the decision to relocate from the US to Australia, my home country. Prior to leaving the US we took a 3 1/2 week trip to Europe, figuring we didn’t know when we’d get a chance to go back. We were moving to Australia to start a family. The plan was to move, get jobs, start trying. The best laid plans….

We started in England, where we stayed with friends of mine, an hour outside of London. After a few days with them, we went to London for a couple of days. We were on the train from our hostel to the city, when I noticed 3 women sitting across from me. Not traveling together, but all well in to their pregnancies. A couple of days later, we got the Eurostar in to Paris where we spent a forgettable three days. After that we trained it to Florence. I fell in love with Italy the second we got there.

After a few days in Florence we took another train (truly the best way to travel in Europe!) to Rome where we were planning to spend 5 days seeing some of the oldest places in the world. It was absolutely magical and I loved every part of Rome. I wanted to live there. About 4 days in, I was exhausted. We had taken a day trip to Pompeii, and it was all I could do to walk around the town. We had also walked just about every inch of Rome, from the Colosseum to the Pantheon to the Spanish Steps to the Trevi Fountain, we had seen so much. And everywhere we went I kept seeing shopping bags from a European baby store.

The next day, sitting at a cafe, as you do in Italy, I wondered why I hadn’t got that lovely monthly visitor all women get. I had been expecting it back in Paris or Florence, but nothing. We had walked all over Europe and I hadn’t lost any weight. I was exhausted. “What if I’m pregnant?” I said to my husband. “Nah, surely not” I said.

The baby bags kept popping up, and I believe my exact words to him were, “If I see one more of those bags, I’m taking it as a sign I am pregnant.”

I could not make up what happened next.

We walked around a corner, and there was the store. That night, in the Roma train station, I bought a pregnancy test, it was all in Italian. But we knew what Positivo meant. And it came up Positivo in mere seconds. I will never forget that moment, I was in shock, my husband was so excited I thought he’d scream it from the rooftops to all of Rome.

Now I see pregnant women everywhere, but it’s just a sign of what I don’t have.

Do you look for or see signs? It seems lots of people do. Linking up with the Fresh Horses Brigade at Edenland.

Edenland's Fresh Horses Brigade

One thought on “It Must Be A Sign

  1. I truly believe in signs but have never had anything like this happen to me, but then perhaps I haven’t been taking enough notice. Have you seen the movie ‘Fools Rush In’ with Matthew Perry & Salma Hayek in it? One of my faves and all about signs 🙂

Leave a Reply

