If It Makes You Happy. Week 8. {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

This week Debra has asked us to define what makes us happy, and challenged us to do 1 thing a day from our Happiness List.

Week #8 Challenge : The Happiness Challenge

In week 1 of the 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge, we were asked to talk about all the things that went right in 2011. The things I talked about were blogging more, spending time with my family and friends, getting away from the home (read: chores), taking pictures, giving thanks and being grateful for the things I have, for the people I have.

I wanted to make sure these things that made me the happiest, and the most relaxed, featured a lot into my 2012 calendar. Here we are, almost March, and I haven’t made a lot of effort to do these things, but I have been thinking about the, trying to put some things in to motion.

We’re planning a family holiday to New Zealand for October/November. We want to fly to Christchurch and drive to Queenstown, exploring along the way, taking in the scenery every step. But in the mean time we want a mini “breakation” so we did this.

We have been making an effort to go out for breakfast, just the 3 of us, every week. So either Saturday or Sunday we head out to a surf club or a local cafe and we have breakfast and enjoy being outside, soaking in the amazing views the Gold Coast has to offer. I’m slowly making my way through the Eggs Benedicts of the Gold Coast! I’ll let you know whose are best when I’m finished.

breakfast views

Something else that makes me happy (well, more relaxed than happy, but on a certain level, happy) is having a clean and organized home. This past weekend was incredibly wet on the coast, and Saturday we spent de-cluttering closets, throwing away things we don’t use anymore. We got rid of so much stuff, our bins are full and we still have things to throw away. Once they are out of my sight, I’ll be so happy!

vaccuum seal bags are best!

I no longer work Saturdays (unless someone is away), which in itself makes me happy. So these are our family days. Days where we try to do something fun, together, different, every week. I’d also like to start a weekly family dinner with my mum, nanna, sisters and their husbands, but that is going to take a bit more planning.

I realized something that WASN’T making me happy was Facebook. I spent far too much time on there, got upset if I felt I was being left out of something, it just generally left me feeling deflated. So I deactivated my account. Tomorrow will be 1 week free of Facebook, and let me tell you, it feels great! But it is EVERY.WHERE. Just for 2 examples, Pinterest and TripAdvisor websites both “recommend” signing in through Facebook!

taking my life back

I’ve been participating in Chantelle at Fat Mum Slim’s monthly photo-a-day challenges and love following along with other particpants on Instagram. I hope the next iPhones have even better cameras in them. I haven’t been getting my DSLR out as much as I should/would like to, but there’s plenty of time to change that.

taking lots of pix

I’ve been pretty sick since last Wednesday, so doing something that made me happy every day was mostly limited to laying on the couch, watching TV, taking naps, all which make me happy under better circumstances, but being sick is absolutely zero fun at all. So while I didn’t necessarily do something each day that made me happy, I feel good about our Saturdays, about our breakation and New Zealand vacation that are both in the works, and I feel good about my gratitude journal and general outlook on life that has changed since starting the journal and this SYL challenge. Sure, I may fall off the wagon once in a while, but it is ok to have those temporary moments of insanity. The work I’ve put in over the last couple of months makes me get back on the wagon quicker and stronger.
It’s not too late to join in with Deb and those of us participating in her 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge. Join in where you want, catch up if you want, link up if you want, or don’t. At least read the challenges and give yourself some food for thought.

14 thoughts on “If It Makes You Happy. Week 8. {52 Weeks To Simplify Your Life}

  1. You are s right – we need to make sure we plan into our bus schedules the things that make us happy otherwise life and chores and bills take over and we don’t have very many happy times at all.

    Love, hugs and positive energy for a fantastic week.
    Me

    • And time just goes so quickly that when we say we will get to it, before we know it, months (or years!) have passed and we never did get around to it! Hope your week is fantastic, too. x

  2. LOVE going out for breakfast too. My favourite time of the week, and I hope, each weekend, that hubby goes ‘come on, let’s go for breakfast!’

    • Well if he doesn’t, just tell him you all are! πŸ˜‰ I had to initiate it the first couple of weeks but last weekend my husband wanted to know if I wanted to go, but I’d been so sick I didn’t want to (clearly a sign I was REALLY sick!)

  3. Great post! Congratulations for deactivating your FB account – it certainly is a time waster. I haven’t been on FB for 3 days now and feel great – but I don’t want to deactivate as I have many interstate contacts and 2 private groups which I really feel a part of – but I’ve decided limiting time on FB is definitely the key!

    • If I could leave FB activated and only check it once a week, or for 10 or 15 minutes a day, I would do it. But I can’t. A friend of mine just had a baby yesterday and I’m dying to activate it to see all the pictures. I got a text message pic/announcement but I’m sure there’ll be heaps more pics on facebook! It is inconvenient to not have it, but it takes over my life when I do. Maybe if I don’t have it for a month, when I go back to it, I won’t be as reliant on it? I don’t know.

  4. I too love the idea of having breakfast out each weekend. This small outing is quite often a great relaxer and can set your mood for the day – I LOVE IT!!! I have been toying with the idea of starting this little ritual. At the moment we just enjoy pancakes every weekend for breaky – which is yummy and fine, but its usually me making them!!!! Hope you are feeling better and you keep up you happiness tasks every day πŸ™‚

    • It can get expensive going out for breakfast once a week. We’ve spent up to $50 for the 3 of us which seems completely excessive, but even if you just went to Maccas and got their hot cakes or something and went to a park, or you come to find out places that have breakfast specials if you look enough, etc. And yes, if you get out, you don’t have to make them and there’s no clean up after! I say do it, you won’t regret it. We worked $50 a week into our weekly budget so we could do it!

  5. Such a great post! I have enjoyed the past 8 weeks on the SYL challenge, but it is amazing at how quickly it has gone! I love that you have created the ritual of breakfast out with your little family and are doing big trips as well. I look forward to checking in with you again over the coming weeks πŸ™‚

    • Well, we’re planning big trips! Let’s hope they work out! Sometimes the planning can be half the fun! I can’t believe how fast 8 weeks has gone also. It’ll be week 52 before we know it! Thanks for popping by!

  6. Love your weekly breakfast outings (even if vicariously) – my hubby works long hours so he sleeps in when possible on the weekend (often up 2-3 hrs after the kids and i eat brekkie LOL). Love your “breakation” too

    hope you are feeling better now…

  7. Love this post! And of course now I’m craving Eggs Benedict at 4.00pm on a Sunday afternoon. πŸ™‚ I’m a big fan of the declutter too – have spent today cleaning out my kitchen and it feels soooo good! And my reward now is to catch up on some blog reading, so thanks for sharing something that I’ve loved reading. x

Leave a Reply

